PDA

View Full Version : **ALERT**/bogus paypal


The Snowman
April 27th, 2003, 12:14 AM
The following notice came to my pop account..(I don't use e mail)

***Please confirm your e mail address and credit card info**


full headers reveal this came from:

( h??p://paypal.com @ amasingboost.***.com)
*********
the total address omitted to avoid any possible problems.

basically..if responded to..giving the requested info....then you would be giving your credit number to someone......so be on alert to this such scam.

- link no longer alive - LWM ;)

The Snowman
April 27th, 2003, 12:16 AM
****MODs***



opps....the first part of the url is live...sorry.....

READERS DO NOT CLICK ON THAT LINK

LowWaterMark
April 27th, 2003, 12:56 AM
-{ Quote: " quoting: The Snowman link=board=18;threadid=8776;start=0#57077 date=1051416984]
the first part of the url is live...
" }-

It's dead now. ;)

The Snowman
April 27th, 2003, 01:45 AM
Thanks LWM

just getting back on the net after alittle tracking.

That bogus e mail (now deleted) was real good.....would fool a whole of of people.......we may be hearing more on this one.

Wayne - DiamondCS
April 27th, 2003, 02:27 AM
As a fairly large company, PayPal are regularly targetted by various scams... just always make sure the host you're going to is *.paypal.com and you can't go wrong