PDA

View Full Version : Security Warning From Merijn


NICK ADSL UK
April 22nd, 2005, 10:08 AM
{QUOTE-> merijn <-QUOTE}April22, 2005:
Just a short note on the domain HIJACK-THIS.NET: this is not mine! It has been registered by XoftSpy (who are also on the Rogue Antispyware List on SpywareWarrior.com) and they are luring people into downloading their software believing it is HijackThis. Also, they have registered a few AdWords at Google leading to the same result. I have contacted them about this and received no reply (how surprising). Google can't do much about it since there is no copyright being breached. We'll see where this goes.
In the meantime, if you want to download any of my programs, the official domain is and always will be www.merijn.org.

NICK ADSL UK
April 29th, 2005, 11:05 AM
{QUOTE-> Merijn.org Security Update <-QUOTE}*Update* April 29, 2005:
I just received word from Paretologic (who own XoftSpy) that the affiliate responsible for the page has been terminated and the site will be taken down. That's one down, one to go
http://www.merijn.org/

NICK ADSL UK
May 7th, 2005, 12:57 PM
Courtesy of chachazz [Thanks] :)


Update from Merijn
Quote:
May 5, 2005:
Update:
The owner of HijackThis.nl has resigned and the site is now run by Erik and Jahewi. I have discussed the matter with the new admins and it seems things will turn out ok after all. For their announcement, see here (http://www.hijackthis.nl/forum/viewtopic.php?t=195) (Dutch).