View Full Version : http://and.doxdesk.com/parasite/ blocked by other program
eagar2
January 4th, 2003, 10:19 AM
http://and.doxdesk.com/parasite/ is listed as recommended in the Setup box for SpywareBlaster, but it yields the following message:
This page has been blocked by SpyBlocker due to security
and Privacy concerns. Some Possible Reasons:
Tracks or Profiles you.
Gathers Private and Confidential Information from you.
Installs software on your machine without your approval.
Has Unsafe Content.
No Content other than Advertisements and Popup windows.
Contains a Possible Keylogger Program.
What do you think?
Paul Wilders
January 4th, 2003, 10:24 AM
eager2,
I get a 404 when clicking your link; are you sure there's no typo in it?
regards.
paul
Pieter_Arntz
January 4th, 2003, 10:52 AM
Hi eagar2,
The correct URL would be: www.doxdesk.com/parasite/
and the warning you´re getting probably is because of this:
Detection script
Your browser has been checked for parasites. None were found. (However this script cannot detect all of them!)
I had to put it in my Trusted Zone.
Regards,
Pieter
javacool
January 4th, 2003, 11:12 AM
-{ Quote: " quoting: eagar2 link=board=34;threadid=5966;start=0#39460 date=1041693586]
http://and.doxdesk.com/parasite/ is listed as recommended in the Setup box for SpywareBlaster, but it yields the following message:
This page has been blocked by SpyBlocker due to security
and Privacy concerns. Some Possible Reasons:
Tracks or Profiles you.
Gathers Private and Confidential Information from you.
Installs software on your machine without your approval.
Has Unsafe Content.
No Content other than Advertisements and Popup windows.
Contains a Possible Keylogger Program.
What do you think?
" }-
It is certainly a safe site, but as Pieter sad, the new address is http://www.doxdesk.com
The detection script is Javascript, I could understand a warning about that...but:
-{ Quote: "
Tracks or Profiles you.
Gathers Private and Confidential Information from you.
Installs software on your machine without your approval.
Has Unsafe Content.
No Content other than Advertisements and Popup windows.
Contains a Possible Keylogger Program.
" }-
None of those are correct - at the very most, the descriptions of parasites on his website may contain links to the maker's sites (and from there you MIGHT be able to download the spyware), but none of the others are accurate.
I changed the link to point to the new address on the SpywareBlaster website - I'll update it for the next version in the setup (thanks for pointing it out). :)
Best regards,
-Javacool
eagar2
January 4th, 2003, 11:18 AM
Thanks, Javacool. That did the trick. And, yes, it appears the other software was overreacting.
Andrew Clover
January 11th, 2003, 06:27 PM
I think what's happening here is that SpyBlocker is actually preventing all accesses to localhost (127.0.0.1), ie. your own machine. I don't know why it would do that, but it does as far as I can tell.
The domain name and.doxdesk.com currently resolves to 127.0.0.1, because there is an ongoing DDoS against and.doxdesk.com, and telling computers infected with this DDoS to bombard *themselves* is the way to ensure least network damage is caused.
This will, unfortunately, continue, until I can get set with a new hosting provider less clueless about network filtering.
--
Andrew Clover
mailto:and@doxdesk.com
http://www.doxdesk.com/
Mike_Healan
January 12th, 2003, 12:33 AM
hehehehe...... Pretty slick
What's the story on that web host. Why won't they filter out the attack? Seems like all it would take would be to set the switch to drop icmp rather than answering it.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums