View Full Version : Is this safe??
zonecrew
November 5th, 2004, 06:40 AM
whenever i connect to the net my zonealarm firewall warns me that a search assistant called sais.exe is trying to connect to the net.
i think this is part of my broadband access?? as it attempts to connect to the BT website (i use bt broadband)
should i allow access or is it spyware??
Blackspear
November 5th, 2004, 06:43 AM
More information here http://www.liutilities.com/products/wintaskspro/processlibrary/sais/
Hope this helps...
Cheers ;D
snapdragin
November 5th, 2004, 07:02 AM
Hi zonecrew, and welcome to Wilders. :)
As Blackspear's link will show you, sais.exe is not part of your ISP but is part of the 180 Search Assistant adware/spyware, so you have done right in blocking it's access to the internet.
You can try uninstalling 180 Search Assistant through "Add/Remove Programs" first. There is more information for manual cleaning here: Kephyr - 180 Search Assistant (http://www.kephyr.com/spywarescanner/library/180searchassistant/index.phtml)
If you do not have the following, then download, install and bring up to-date one of the following two anti-spyware programs (using both is also recommended and they work well together) and do a full system scan them:
Ad-Aware SE Personal (http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html)
Spybot Search&Destroy (http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/index.html)
Let us know how you make out.
Regards,
snap
zonecrew
November 9th, 2004, 05:20 AM
thanks for the advice
;)
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2012, Wilders Security Forums