View Full Version : Mailing a virus?
bolleke3
November 17th, 2002, 09:07 AM
Hello,
Received an e-mail from wol.net.pk informing me that
I sent an e-mail infected with a virus and inviting me
to run my anti-vir prog.
Never sent mail to Pakistan so,what's going on here?
WKR
Bolleke3
Pieter_Arntz
November 17th, 2002, 09:29 AM
Hi Bolleke3,
Welcome at Wilders. To get you started, have a look at this thread: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=4519;start=0
In case you have additional questions, don´t hesitate to ask.
Regards,
Pieter
bolleke3
November 17th, 2002, 09:44 AM
Thanks for your reply,Pieter:good reading.
Now,that e-mail was just an info,no attachments or so.
Should I ask them for more details or leave it as such?
Just asking myself how my e-mailadress shows up in
Pakistan?
Win2K-Nod 32-TDS-3
WKR
Bolleke3
Paul Wilders
November 17th, 2002, 09:53 AM
Hi bolleke3,
Klez, BugBear/Tanatos and others are the culprit here. If you read the info on the link provided by Pieter closely, it should be quite clear how your email address "shows up" in Pakistan ;).
Provided your system is clean, you might consider dropping
the sender an email referring as to how klez, Bugbear etc. actual act. Did you receive an autoresponded email?
regards.
paul
Pieter_Arntz
November 17th, 2002, 09:57 AM
Assuming you don´t leave it behind at websites, someone who has your e-mail-address is infected.
It could even be sheer coincidence: the virus made up an address out of two components, found on the infected computer, which happen to form your address when put together.
Regards,
Pieter
bolleke3
November 17th, 2002, 10:04 AM
OK,Paul,I have of course some idea how it happens
or could happen,but,is it so that my system is infected?
Running every two days Nod32 (updated),TDS-3 also
up to date,ZAPro idem,Ad-Aware,Wormguard and
nothing,just nothing conc. viri,worms,etc.Are all this
programs useless at the end and what else could I do?
That e-mail was just a normal e-mail.
If YOU have an idea,please inform me.
Best regards,
Bolleke 3
bolleke3
November 17th, 2002, 10:10 AM
Hello Pieter,
Yes,they must have picked up my adress somewhere
but I only give it on sites where I have no other choice:
to register at Fora,buying online.Will look around to
find out if I could use somewhere a fake email-adress
or do you have a suggestion in that way?
WKR
Bolleke3
Paul Wilders
November 17th, 2002, 10:12 AM
Bolleke,
Have a look at Pieters' latest reply above. No: your system isn't infected at all. Mereley the fact your email address has been abused, thus ponting to you, is unfortunate: that's all there's to it. NOD32 is doing fine on your system - and has in fact nothing to do with it. It's the design from BugBear, Opasoft, Klez etc. making this happen.
In short: you don't have anything to worry about. As stated before: you might point the email sender to how in fact those nasties work, and therefore you/your system is perfectly clean ;).
regards.
paul
bolleke3
November 17th, 2002, 10:24 AM
Thanks,Paul,everything clear now!
Plse close my topic.
WKR
Bolleke3
Paul Wilders
November 17th, 2002, 10:28 AM
Bolleke,
(btw: that's a commonly used name for an old dock workers beer over in Belgium as well - I like it a lot!) - glad we've sorted this one out.
No need to close this thread: others might benefit from it as well - and possibly want to comment.
Last but not least: welcome! ;).
regards.
paul
bolleke3
November 17th, 2002, 11:43 AM
Paul,
Yes,"beer and Flanders":there is a lot of brands and,
since my wife is a specialist,I will ask her to buy me
some "Bolleke's beer",Wonder if my Munk's cat,
Bolleke,will like it as well.
Thanks again and all the best.
Bolleke3
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2009, Wilders Security Forums