PDA

View Full Version : Another anti-spyware program, any good?


Will Rock U
August 9th, 2004, 06:56 AM
Hello

Anyone try this yet? Is it any good? It's not a freebie, but there is a free trial. It's called Spyware Doctor- http://www.pctools.com/spyware-doctor

ronjor
August 9th, 2004, 01:17 PM
Reviews by users

here. (http://www.download.com/3302-8022_4-10293213.html)

Eldar
August 9th, 2004, 01:39 PM
I bought this anti-spyware some time ago and it's not on the rogue list from Eric L. Howes. See link in my sig.
It's not one of the best like Spybot, Ad-aware or Webroot Spy Sweeper, but it's not bad either.
Just my opinion. ;)

ronny
August 9th, 2004, 03:00 PM
I tried it, but i suspect it finds too many false positives:

" TinyBar (multiple) general malware Download Accelerator (HKLM\software\classes\.vsl) registry key
SuperBar (C:\Program Files\GameSpy Arcade\Profiles\(default)\settings.cfg) file *
SuperBar (C:\Program Files\GameSpy Arcade\Profiles\33634864\settings.cfg) file
Download Accelerator (C:\Program Files\MUSICMATCH\MUSICMATCH Jukebox\ChanDir\MMJB\MMC.xml) file
NewtonKnows (C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead Photo Express 4.0 SE\Bar.dll) file
IBIS Toolbar (D:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\RiseOFNations\data\cursors.xml) file
SuperBar (D:\Program Files\Starship\data\settings "

I send them an email for more information about these enties, but the answered the following which wasn't very helpful on the false positives question :(
"1. Open Spyware Doctor and perform a 'Live Update' as well as ensuring 'OnGuard' is set to activated.
2. From the 'Status' section, please select 'Immunize Your Computer'
3. Start a Full Scan
4. If spywares are found, please press on the 'Check All' button. Then click on the 'Fix Checked' button and select 'Move to Quarantine and Remove'."

Cochise
August 9th, 2004, 04:09 PM
Must agree with you there Ronny my friend.....also, I think it comes under the category of giving one the WOW factor, as in, finding things of no consequence really to make one think it's a bit of good gear so BUY me and see what I can REALLY do. :o

I did notice also, that whilst it was downloading I received four 'Nuke' warnings from my 'Outpost Pro' that I was under 'attack' from 'PCTOOLS', who are the Publishers of this programme??....whatever that's worth... ;)

Nipping off now to unload it... ;D



Cochise, 8)

Arin
August 10th, 2004, 08:51 AM
funny i thought PC Tools is the maker of that software. they are advertising for Registry Mechanic too though its from Winguides. i wonder what is the reason.