View Full Version : Somehow ironic....
currius
September 21st, 2002, 08:29 AM
As I was surfing my way up from the following URL: "http://javacool1.freeservers.com/" to download bdkiller a window popped up on my screen asking if I would be interested d/l
XUPITER software.
Let me just say I was a bit surprised, and, I thought you people would like to know.
TonyKlein
September 21st, 2002, 08:38 AM
Xupiter is a lop.com clone, and somehow I don't think you could possibly have 'caught' that one on Javacool's site.
Maybe somewere else, while getting there?
javacool
September 21st, 2002, 10:31 AM
It is possible that you got it on that site - if you notice, they are a free webhosting company. I only used them for a little while - all links on the pages redirect to the new sites generously hosted here at Wilders (which have no ads, pop-ups, etc - again, the original "freeservers" sites were only used to get the program out as quickly as possible). At the time I originally put the pages up, they did not have any pop-ups displayed that tried to install anything (if that had originally been the case, I would have never used them).
I only keep the sites up in case someone gets an old link - B3D Killer is now available from: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/B3DKiller.html
-Javacool
javacool
September 21st, 2002, 10:39 AM
In another related note, I have never gotten a pop-up for Xupiter...or anything else for that matter ;D.
A combination of AdShield (www.adshield.org (http://www.adshield.org)) and Proxomitron do a great job!
-Javacool
TonyKlein
September 21st, 2002, 10:52 AM
I disabled Adshield, but nothing untoward happened to me when visiting the site.
Wouldn't it be an ActiveX thingie more likely?
Not on that site, though.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums