PDA

View Full Version : A Real Quandry...............


ad4103
June 5th, 2004, 02:40 PM
Sypbot suggests downloading JavaCool spyware, but when I clicked on JavaCool and then clicked on their recommended download site (majorgeeks.com), a spybot window (Ave. A) came up saying that this site was unsafe for downloading..................what do I do now?

snowbound
June 5th, 2004, 02:57 PM
{QUOTE-> Sypbot suggests downloading JavaCool spyware, but when I clicked on JavaCool and then clicked on their recommended download site (majorgeeks.com), a spybot window (Ave. A) came up saying that this site was unsafe for downloading..................what do I do now? <-QUOTE}

Go here,

http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/index.html

Hope this helps.


snowbound

snowbound
June 5th, 2004, 03:06 PM
Just found a thread on this subject,

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=32972&highlight=avenue

looks like it is nothing to worry about. ;)


snowbound

Bubba
June 5th, 2004, 03:10 PM
Hey ad4130,

The Avenue A item Spybot is referring to is a third-party cookie and by no means will that item cause anything to happen to your PC. When\If you go back to Major Geeks site and your presented with that Spybot pop-up....it's referring to the Avenue A cookie and do you want to block the cookie....answer No and you then should be able to procede on with the actual SpywareBlaster download. This will continue on many sites not only with Avenue A but any 3rd party cookies(Doubleclick....etc) as long as your using Spybots Resident IE helper feature.