View Full Version : javacool/spyblaster should be emberassed
byproduct
June 4th, 2004, 02:36 PM
Went to dl Spyblaster. Seen this "> Download SpywareBlaster 3.1 from majorgeeks.com (USA and other locations) *Primary Download Location*" so I clicked that link.
Took me to Majorgeeks.com where spyblocker immediately blocked "Avenue A".
Javacool should be emberassed by allowing their preferred download site attempt such things.
Whats more, was no method to contact Javacool to inform them about it (as if they don't already know).
So had to amek a memebership here just to post it for them to find out, BUT the best part (I hope) is, that they will be emberassed by their lack of sincere caring or support to things going on with their software presentation, whihc is exactly counter and ironic to what their products are to be used for.
Users should seek alternatives to Javasoft softwares and support programing that absolutely demands all sites associated refuse adwares spywares and the likes.
Erik Ayala
June 4th, 2004, 03:05 PM
Dude, your post makes almost no sense but from what I could gather you're mad at Javacool for putting one of their download locations at a site that attempts to attack your computer with an Active X control that Spyware Blaster is made to block when in reality I get that Avenue A crap anywhere I go on the web. It's a really common one. It always used to appear for me at allthelyrics.com but that's beside the point. I was surfing the internet for the longest time without up to date antivirus software and to make things worse I used a file sharing program. All I had was Spyware Blaster. When I finally was able to scan for viruses I only found one! All thanks to Spyware Blaster.
Just be glad that people like the Javacool team dedicate their time, effort and money to make a piece of software to protect not only your computer and privacy but anyone else's who uses the program. I, for one, am grateful that I can get for free what other companies would charge an arm and a leg for, for software that isn't even half as good. I was so grateful I donated to Javacool hoping they can keep those updates coming.
MCT
June 4th, 2004, 03:22 PM
byproduct,
in reality, u should THANK javacool, as was stated above, his program is free, and other company's would charge out the wazoo for what he makes for free,
Avenue a is only a tracking cookie i believe, so if u had your security settings set right, u wouldnt even notice it
:)
LowWaterMark
June 4th, 2004, 05:19 PM
MCT is correct. The Avenue A alert is just a simple third-party cookie. It is not an ActiveX control or anything dangerous.
goldwing388
June 4th, 2004, 05:50 PM
This software is a God send, and I am proud to have it on my puter. If this guy that posted the bad remarks has any class, he will respond with an apology for trashing this software.
MCT
June 4th, 2004, 06:13 PM
{QUOTE-> 8 This software is a God send, and I am proud to have it on my puter. If this guy that posted the bad remarks has any class, he will respond with an apology for trashing this software. <-QUOTE}
I do agree, this software is superb, i am aswell proud 2 have it, one of the only pieces of software that i tell EVERYONE i come across 2 install, cuz its THAT good :D
superb work javacool :D
sig
June 4th, 2004, 07:30 PM
Well, as the original poster can see there is indeed a way to contact Javacool: via this support forum in which registration is not required to post And as noted Avenue A is a just a cookie which you'd never see if your browser was set to not accept third party cookies. And a cookie, despite the hype and fear of cookies that has been promulgated on the net, is not anywhere near a "threat" as an ActiveX control that can download really nasty stuff to one's PC.
I suspect Javacool is not really the one who should be embarassed. ;)
RJ100
June 5th, 2004, 04:08 PM
byproduct,
Of what we are all not sure.
Perhaps some research is in order before making such a rude post.
Have you ever heard of this phrase?
Never look a gift horse in the mouth
Or are you simply trying to get reactions and feed off them.
We all appreciate what is given to us freely, and are greatful.
Here's a Link you may want to research.
http://tinyurl.com/2dfxd
Oh, just some friendly advice, think before you post. ???
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2009, Wilders Security Forums