View Full Version : File sharing programs
yodafan
August 17th, 2002, 07:44 PM
hi,
Lately been getting pings from sharing programs, port 6346,1214. These programs are ping for hours....is this not abusive? I get logs of this stuff. How come these programs are so unconsistent with who is logged in or not?
btw i don't use sharing programs so i don't know much about these stuff...
YODA
root
August 17th, 2002, 08:14 PM
This usually happens when someone is on a dialup or other ISP that changes IPs regularly. Someone had the IP before you and uses P2P, then logs off. You come along and get the IP and start getting hammered.
That's where a good firewall comes in handy. :)
I would offer some suggestions, but Paul would ban me. ;D
Paul Wilders
August 17th, 2002, 08:20 PM
-{ Quote: "I would offer some suggestions, but Paul would ban me." }-
LOL! Nope: actually, your input here is highly valued 8). That being said: no suggestions - at least not the ones I presume you could post ;)
regards.
paul
Stu
August 17th, 2002, 08:40 PM
I agree it is a pain i tried out kaaza lite for a week and after i stopped using it and formatted my drive i continued to get hammered by it.I have broadband but luckily i have a dynamic ip that changes every few weeks.I feel sorry for the person that got my last ip if they have a firewall there probably still getting battered with traffic from there.
Prince_Serendip
August 17th, 2002, 08:44 PM
Hi YOD@! To fix this problem, disconnect from your ISP and then reconnect. Hopefully/usually they'll give you a new IP. Should stop the hits. :)
yodafan
August 18th, 2002, 05:38 AM
hey thanx a lot guys,
just got ping for subseven.... so i check it out with symantec's trace a potential thing (whois), it found no server... weird . wut does that mean? Like it said no results for locating the server. Screenshot below
YODA
August 18th, 2002, 05:47 AM
heh ok... had to loggin to put up a screenshot...
JacK
August 18th, 2002, 07:18 AM
-{ Quote: " quoting: yodafan link=board=23;threadid=3104;start=0#20956 date=1029663505]
hey thanx a lot guys,
just got ping for subseven.... so i check it out with symantec's trace a potential thing (whois), it found no server... weird . wut does that mean? Like it said no results for locating the server. Screenshot below
" }-
Hi,
Nothing wierd : no registred domain, that's all.
JacK
root
August 18th, 2002, 01:09 PM
Owner
First Internet provider in Montenegro, Routers and dial-up lines, Podgorica, centrala 2
Location
Internet Crna Gora d.o.o., ul. Slobode 68, 81000 Podgorica, Montenegro, Yugoslavia
Contact Information
Zeljko Draskovic, internet@cg.yu, + 381 81 45 321, + 381 81 43 941, Ivan Kuc, kooch@cg.yu, +381 69 064212, +381 81 243941
Name Servers
ns.cg.yu, ns2.crnagora.net
That's all I could get from my snitch in Jugoslavia. They're a tight lipped bunch over there. ;D
Not much sense in pursueing it any further as far as I can see.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums