PDA

View Full Version : Firefox connects out to this IP


CloneRanger
May 15th, 2011, 12:39 AM
Been testing my internet connections with Wireshark & found something revealing about FF. "If" i've got this right, it "could" explain why for a Long time i've wondered why my FW's icon very briefy blinks to indicate activity often, even when not surfing.

I checked for Addons & it found 2 which i updated. I only had one instance of FF open & closed it to relaunch & get the updated Addons included.

Immediately i relaunched ONLY going to an internal blank page.

227055

WS showed it made these connections ?

227056

http://www.stopbadware.org = 128.103.64.79

128.103.64.79 = Harvard University

After doing a WhoIs i went back to http://www../ & got the same 2 connections ?

I have set ALL options in FF & the Addons NOT to auto update, & i rechecked to make sure they were. Just to ensure nothing was leaking out from ANY of them, I disabled EVERY one & closed FF, which also clears out ALL the cache etc. Relaunched FF & the same thing happens ? I've repeated this relaunching a number of times with the exact same result.

So i'm wondering if FF is coded to connect to stopbadware ? And why ? If it's NOT coded to do that, why would i get the connections anyway, & every time ?

J_L
May 15th, 2011, 01:25 AM
Try opening Firefox in Safe Mode with all boxes checked, or create a new profile.

Fad
May 15th, 2011, 05:06 AM
Have you got the firefox security options enabled ?

"Block Reported Attack Sites
"Block Reported Web Forgeries"

-{ Quote: "Google, which is a StopBadware partner," }-
http://www.stopbadware.org/home/faq

Do they get their lists from Google ? ...maybe it`s something to do with that ?

CloneRanger
May 15th, 2011, 11:46 AM
-{ Quote: "Originally posted by J_L

Try opening Firefox in Safe Mode with all boxes checked, or create a new profile" }-

firefox -safe-mode

227063

Thanks, i did that & got the Exact same connections = StopBadware

-{ Quote: "Originally posted by Fad

Have you got the firefox security options enabled ?

"Block Reported Attack Sites
"Block Reported Web Forgeries"" }-

Good point :thumb: but i have those already disabled & checked.

-{ Quote: "Google, which is a StopBadware partner" }-

Yeah, i noticed that !

-{ Quote: "Do they get their lists from Google ? ...maybe it`s something to do with that ?" }-

That's what i wondered, but i have deleted ALL google entries in about:config Before i did that i saw with WS that FF was making a number of connections to google >:( I had previously deleted google from being the Search default. So now i get NO google connections at all.

I'm wondering if it's my ISP that has teamed up with StopBadware ? as in my screenie it shows them as DNS entries !

Just left viewing here & returned the page to www & once again i see the above 2 DNS StopBadware entries !

Searching_ _ _
May 15th, 2011, 12:13 PM
@CloneRanger

If you want to research a particular domain or IP address you could use http://www.bfk.de/bfk_dnslogger.html.
It was quite helpful to me, I found an add-on developer who likes to host she-male porn using the site to research their IP's.
You could say I was curious. :what:

Cheers

CloneRanger
May 15th, 2011, 04:47 PM
Looks like i've tracked down the culprit :)

227067

That was Enabled :o

I'd updated Calomel which corrected a previous minor conflict with the same settings in RP. So as it undid the conflict it unaviodably reenabled the DNS setting ;D

But i'd still like to know why enabling the DNS Prefetching connects to www.stopbadware ?

-{ Quote: "Originally posted by Searching_ _ _

If you want to research a particular domain or IP address you could use http://www.bfk.de/bfk_dnslogger.html." }-

Thanks :thumb:

-{ Quote: "You could say I was curious" }-

Really :D

ronjor
May 15th, 2011, 04:57 PM
-{ Quote: "But i'd still like to know why enabling the DNS Prefetching connects to www.stopbadware" }-https://blog.mozilla.com/blog/2008/09/16/mozilla-partners-with-stopbadwareorg-to-protect-consumers/

vasa1
May 15th, 2011, 09:52 PM
-{ Quote: "https://blog.mozilla.com/blog/2008/09/16/mozilla-partners-with-stopbadwareorg-to-protect-consumers/" }-

Thank you!

CloneRanger
May 15th, 2011, 10:12 PM
@ ronjor

Thanks a LOT for finding that :thumb: which sets the record straight finally. I did have a look at http://www.stopbadware for info, but didn't see that :(

-{ Quote: "The StopBadware Blog

Mozilla joins StopBadware! 15 Sep 2008

http://blog.stopbadware.org/2008/09/15/mozilla-joins-stopbadware" }-

That's probably why. So panic over :o well not really panic, but those connections out not directly initiated by me, appeared strange.

*

There's a "bit" more info here http://stopbadware.org/home/pr_091508 but it's Very short on details. What i'm now wondering is, how on earth our FF's connecting out to http://www.stopbadware on EVERY launch & CLOSE is -{ Quote: ""helping each other to keep their websites and computers protected" " }-

It "sounds" as if they must be monitoring our visted www's, either by storing them first and/or dipping into our Cache etc, and/or our bookmarks How else could they accomplish what they say otherwise ?

"If" that's the case, then i'd say it's a BIG privacy issue, as NOWHERE blatantly are FF declaring this before installing it :thumbd:

JRViejo
May 15th, 2011, 11:28 PM
-{ Quote: ""If" that's the case, then i'd say it's a BIG privacy issue, as NOWHERE blatantly are FF declaring this before installing it :thumbd:" }-
CR, see Mozilla Firefox's Privacy Policy (http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/legal/privacy/firefox.html) for an explanation on how they collect and use personal information.

brainrb1
May 16th, 2011, 12:25 AM
-{ Quote: "CR, see Mozilla Firefox's Privacy Policy (http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/legal/privacy/firefox.html) for an explanation on how they collect and use personal information." }-

-{ Quote: "Information Firefox Sends to Websites and ISPs

Like other web browsers, Firefox sends Non-Personal and Potentially Personal Information to the websites you visit when requested by the website" }-

So whatever browser we use there is no privacy.Now we can all stop bashing chrome/google on privacy issues.:thumbd:

CloneRanger
May 16th, 2011, 12:30 AM
@ JRViejo

Thanks for the link :thumb: I found quite a bit of useful info on there :)

Re Add-ons Manager ?

-{ Quote: "Get Add-ons Page

Firefox offers a Get Add-ons page of the Add-ons Manager that features popular add-ons and displays personalized recommendations based on the add-ons you already have installed. This page can be accessed by clicking (or tapping on a mobile device) on the “Get Add-ons” tab of the Firefox Add-ons Manager. To display the personalized recommendations, Firefox sends certain information to Mozilla, including the list of add-ons you have installed, Firefox version information, and your IP address. This communication only happens when the Get Add-ons area is open and can be turned off at any time by opting out of Automatic Updates from the Add-ons Manager." }-

I can see my Add-ons when i go to Tools/Add-ons, & that shows my Extensions, not Add-ons :D but they are Add-ons i know. What i don't see is anywhere is the Add-ons Manager Where is it ? FF v3.6.14

*

This might of interest to peeps ;)

-{ Quote: "Firefox makes unrequested connections

Some people are particularly concerned about the connections Firefox makes to the internet, especially when such connections are made with no apparent cause. This article will explain the various reasons why Firefox may legitimately make a connection to the internet, and how you can stop it from doing so if you so desire.

https://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/Firefox%20makes%20unrequested%20connections#Auto_update_checking" }-

I was able to disable a few more Auto connects with the help of that :thumb:

JRViejo
May 16th, 2011, 12:33 AM
-{ Quote: "@ JRViejo

Thanks for the link :thumb: I found quite a bit of useful info on there :)" }-
CR, you're welcome! Take care.