New Dell Kace sandboxed FF (now also on x64)

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Kees1958, Mar 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kees1958

Kees1958 Registered Member

2. farmerlee

farmerlee Registered Member

Yeh i've been using it for a few months now on win7 x64. It works great and i haven't had any issues yet. It has a few handy features which give you control over wat processes can run and wat sites can be accessed. Its probably not as powerful as sandboxie or other similar software but its free and does the basics well.

3. pajenn

pajenn Registered Member

I'm using it on 64-bit Windows XP. It works as advertised, but I would use Sandboxie instead if it was compatible with that OS.

Basic description: Sandbox for Firefox 3.6.13 with Adobe Reader and Flash plugin-ins included (I suppose pdf and flash based malware are among the biggest dangers when browsing the internets). You can reset it (empty the sandbox) any time, and it can keep your bookmarks in tact. I think you may be able to update firefox and then import your current setup to make a new installer (new reset point I assume), but I'm not sure - it seemed complicated.

The bad (why I prefer Sandboxie):
    --Obviously Sandboxie works with most other apps, which is a huge plus, but it's also much smaller. Dell KACE Secure Browser takes up about 300-400 MB at the beginning, and quickly grows from that until you reset it. In my case it grew to nearly 700 MB before I hit reset and didn't show any leveling off at that point.
    --If you update Firefox (to v3.6.15, for example) and hit reset, you lose the bookmarks (at least I did) and then you are back to FF v3.6.13 again.
    --Plugins can be tough to add -- I was unable to add KeyScrambler.
    --If you browse files on your local hard drive from Dell KACE FF (to look for a plugin, for example), it may copy some of the files you just browse into the FF sandbox ( = bloat).