View Full Version : Enigma Firewall
gunnarj
April 24th, 2004, 09:53 AM
Anybody have anything to report about this new free firewall?
NEW!! EnigmaFireWallFREE
*RECOMMENDED PRODUCT! Rich in features, this product protects you from hackers entering your computer and prevents any information from being transmitted without your knowledge.
Engima Firewall (http://www.enigmasoftwaregroup.com/products.shtml)
Enigma Firewall > User Opinions (http://download.com.com/3302-2092_4-10284670.html)
-gunnarj
tahoma
April 24th, 2004, 12:00 PM
didnt try it...but i notice that enigmasoftwaregroup.com is listed as a 'bad' url by some hosts file sites, making me think that it could be a spying vehicle camouflaged as a firewall
but i dont know
minacross
April 25th, 2004, 10:54 AM
-{ Quote: "didnt try it...but i notice that enigmasoftwaregroup.com is listed as a 'bad' url by some hosts file sites, making me think that it could be a spying vehicle camouflaged as a firewall
but i dont know" }-
I installed EnigmaFW and found it an annoying program. :-\
each time I open a new tab (I use Mozilla 1.6) it askes me to allow this connection, even if I allowed it - the same program/url - before. I haven't seen such behavior form any FW (I used Tiny,Kerio,Sygate,Outpost and ZA)..
I do not recommend using this software; I think it is not complete yet.. :(
minacross
April 25th, 2004, 02:06 PM
Please read this thread (http://www.pcqanda.com/dc/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=2&topic_id=295358&mesg_id=295358&page=)
sciop101
May 12th, 2004, 07:22 PM
I installed Enigma Firewall and found it easy to set up. I ran a penetration test on it (www.grc.com) and it was weak. I uninstallled it and put Sygate back in.
nadirah
May 13th, 2004, 12:42 AM
***WARNING*** Enigma Software Group is suspected of being a spyware/malware company. There have been lots of people discussing about whether Enigma is good/bad.
However, i strongly recommend that you don't even go to their website nor touch any of their products.
Re: Enigma Software Group
it depends who you ask i think ;D , but they are bad news in my opinion, they are among the various companies who were trying to make a dollar off of spybot search and destroy, no thanks to google , and you need to pay for anything to be removed , even if the reports are false .. they also got blacklisted at bluetack.
heres a bit more:
http://forums.net-integration.net/i...showtopic=11043 (http://forums.net-integration.net/index.php?showtopic=11043)
hopefully im not alone in thinking they are not worth the trouble, and you should stick with the real anti-spyware programs like adaware and spybot S&D.
but not this spybot ripoff either: ;D
http://forums.net-integration.net/i...showtopic=13938 (http://forums.net-integration.net/index.php?showtopic=13938)
nadirah
May 13th, 2004, 12:45 AM
-{ Quote: "didnt try it...but i notice that enigmasoftwaregroup.com is listed as a 'bad' url by some hosts file sites, making me think that it could be a spying vehicle camouflaged as a firewall
but i dont know" }-what tahoma says seems to have a point. i like this part of his statement: spying vehicle camouflaged as a firewall.
well said, tahoma.
gunnarj
May 16th, 2004, 06:28 PM
Thanks all for your replies.
I won't be testing this firewall out anytime soon.
There wasn't much information given out at all at their website, hence the question. Now I think i know why they don't say too much.
gunnarj
lukjbo
May 27th, 2004, 10:44 AM
-{ Quote: "didnt try it...but i notice that enigmasoftwaregroup.com is listed as a 'bad' url by some hosts file sites, making me think that it could be a spying vehicle camouflaged as a firewall
but i dont know" }-
I used it in twin with other firewalls, every time I tryied to change something like passwd on hotmail and similar, the enigma tryied to connect to 67.15.16.32, port 80. I suppose it is not a good thing!
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2012, Wilders Security Forums