View Full Version : Revo/RegBooster...Why the Alarm?
Dermot7
October 8th, 2010, 08:47 PM
Has anyone noticed this? Just checking for update on Revo when app hung/froze then refreshed with "invitation" to have free reg scan. Why
the red "freakout" shield...alarming for a noob?
dw426
October 8th, 2010, 09:02 PM
-{ Quote: "Has anyone noticed this? Just checking for update on Revo when app hung/froze then refreshed with "invitation" to have free reg scan. Why
the red "freakout" shield...alarming for a noob?" }-
Either:
1. Revo has some sort of deal with UniBlue (vendor of RegistryBooster).
2. It's just a random ad (when did Revo start putting ads in?).
3. You possibly have a fake/cracked Revo?
The Facebook link alarms me more. Damn, you just can't get away from that thing.
Dermot7
October 8th, 2010, 09:07 PM
Yeah, but the installation of revo is fine. I think it's their way of updating, if not
the app...then try our latest ad? ;D
And they did have ad before..but for Revo Pro, this is free. :)
littlebits
October 8th, 2010, 10:46 PM
-{ Quote: "Either:
1. Revo has some sort of deal with UniBlue (vendor of RegistryBooster).
" }-
Yes Revo has made a deal with Uniblue (rogue vendor), I got the same ad when I went to check for updates.
And they are not the only ones, when you get updated Firefox extensions for NoScript, Ad-block Plus and others they open a page in
Firefox with Uniblue ads that you can not block with Firefox.
Shame on them for doing business with a known rogue vendor. :thumbd:
Thanks.:)
Mr.PC
October 9th, 2010, 06:57 AM
Funny thing...??? :-\
Unible (http://www.uniblue.com/) keeps presenting itself as a Microsoft Gold Certified Partner.
Dermot7
October 9th, 2010, 07:23 AM
I don't know if Uniblue products are good or bad, I've never tried. The main point here I'm saying is, just don't try and persuade someone(possibly inexperienced) into taking scan in that way i.e. by using bright red scare shield.
Are they trying to sell software or scare people? I believe it's implying also
that there's something wrong with your PC...to unclear/confused/inexperienced. They should remove/replace this ad imo.
JRViejo
October 9th, 2010, 01:07 PM
FYI. Uniblue Systems Ltd (https://solutionfinder.microsoft.com/Partners/PartnerDetailsView.aspx?partnerid=a6fc7830fc1f485b85eac3905162ca2e) Microsoft Partner details.
Dermot7
October 9th, 2010, 01:20 PM
All I question here are the marketing tactics employed.
Unnecessarily "alarmist"....that's all. If anyone is under the
impression that Uniblue are "rogue" or something then they're
misled.
JRViejo
October 9th, 2010, 01:28 PM
Dermot7, in Revo's Support (http://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_uninstaller_support_help.php) page, they have a Contacts section (scroll to bottom). Perhaps you should contact them.
Dermot7
October 9th, 2010, 01:33 PM
-{ Quote: "Dermot7, in Revo's Support (http://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_uninstaller_support_help.php) page, they have a Contacts section (scroll to bottom). Perhaps you should contact them." }-
Thanks JR, I will. I was interested to know if other users had seen this ad, and
what was thought of it. Thanks.
JRViejo
October 9th, 2010, 01:36 PM
Dermot7, you're welcome! Keep us posted. Take care.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2012, Wilders Security Forums