PDA

View Full Version : Blocklist Manager


OPTIMIZERS
April 11th, 2004, 04:52 PM
Goodevening, I use Spyblocker (very very pleased 'bout it) and the blocklist manager from: http://bluetack.co.uk/blm.html
for downloading the ip's and url's that tracks and spy us down so I can merge it into the Spyblocker
BUT now I heard from a friend that this site comes from the akamai server, which is very known of being a trojan and spy server.
can anyone give me please some advice of this manager and maybe some news of their (spy)server???
would really appreciate it.

deathangel
April 22nd, 2004, 04:53 PM
BUT now I heard from a friend that this site comes from the akamai server, which is very known of being a trojan and spy server.

what bluetack or Spyblocker

I work for bluetack and there isn't anything comming off that server :lol:

If you want we can move the lists to another server :)

gerardwil
April 22nd, 2004, 05:38 PM
-{ Quote: "Goodevening, I use Spyblocker (very very pleased 'bout it) and the blocklist manager from: http://bluetack.co.uk/blm.html
for downloading the ip's and url's that tracks and spy us down so I can merge it into the Spyblocker
BUT now I heard from a friend that this site comes from the akamai server, which is very known of being a trojan and spy server.
can anyone give me please some advice of this manager and maybe some news of their (spy)server???
would really appreciate it." }-

Take a look here:
http://www.akamai.com/en/html/about/customers.html

FanJ
April 22nd, 2004, 05:41 PM
Hi,

I don't know anything about the Blocklist Manager.
So I have to leave that to others.

-{ Quote: "...the akamai server, which is very known of being a trojan and spy server.
" }-

About Akamai servers:

In general you can not say that the Akamai servers are known for being a trojan and spy server.
It simply is not true.

Lots have been written in the past about Akamai.
Googling/searching around will give lots of info.

Akamai has a worldwide system of servers.
Lots of software companies use it.
Among those are very legitimate ones.
And also some that you may want to avoid.

For example:
The old SMartins HOSTS file (full version) includes a long list of Akamai sites to be blocked.
But they are in the "Not for Everyone" section, meaning : every user has to decide for him/herself whether to block those.
Same analogous thing for IE-SPYAD from Eric Howes.

OPTIMIZER
April 23rd, 2004, 06:33 AM
Thank you both for your quick reply. Thats why I was finding an answer here 'cause if you don't find it here you find it prob. nowhere.
The prob is that I use the blocklist manager (i couldn't live without it anymore) but as I am using Spyblocker (very nice) they sometimes blocks the sites and when I look at the log there is something about the akamai server. But I find it impossible to believe that the server of the blocklist manager is some of them . Now I am going to delete it from my host blocklist.
Thank you very much FanJ, Gerardwil and Deathangel as I have now the information needed.
to Deathangel: Nice piece of app. keep it going up!!