View Full Version : I need an answer if you know
Mr Bob
April 7th, 2004, 03:11 PM
"Freewebs.com" was a site installed to my restricted sites zone. My son created a website there and I can't find anything "bad" about it - privacy policy -terms of use, and I can't find anything on line about it either.
I am VERY security conscious, so Javacool...why is this site targeted?
javacool
April 7th, 2004, 04:09 PM
Freewebs is on several CoolWebSearch-related domain lists, and is classified as such in the SpywareBlaster Restricted Sites database. (It's on several other block lists as well.) CWShredder targets this domain too. (This is most likely due to a CWS-related site being hosted on their servers, or systems being hijacked to the site - the former being most likely.)
Adding that site to the restricted sites zone also prevents their advertising network from placing cookies on your machine (information on that is in their privacy policy).
{QUOTE->
FreeWebs.com uses cookies to track user traffic patterns (as described above). Our advertising system delivers a one-time cookie to better track ad impressions and click rates. <-QUOTE}
SpywareBlaster offers a permanent ignore feature, which may benefit you in this case. Just right-click on the item in the Restricted Sites database and choose Ignore List > Add Item to Ignore List. (You can search for the item by right-clicking on the database as well.)
Best regards,
-Javacool
Mr Bob
April 7th, 2004, 07:23 PM
Thanks JC - that is an answer.
The sad (?) thing is that Freewebs is one of the best, user friendly web creating sites. I was very impressed with it. It doesn't demand you place an ad banner on your created site too.
I suppose if I disable their ad cookie, I won't be able to edit my (son's) site. I don't see the site itself as a threat, however I'm going to run CW shredder tonight just for fun ::)
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2009, Wilders Security Forums