View Full Version : threatfire connectin to theplanet.com?
wutsup
May 4th, 2010, 08:20 PM
when updating threatfire i noticed it was connecting to theplanet.com? i looked up theplanet.com on google and some users on web of trust rated the site as phishing/scam/malware and others rated it as good.
jmonge
May 4th, 2010, 08:27 PM
very strange???
NoIos
May 4th, 2010, 09:29 PM
theplanet.com is in no way a phishing/scam/malware site. I used to have a server with them ( not any more ). The Planet provides dedicated servers so I guess some bad reputation comes from sites hosted on the rented servers and not by The Planet itself ( although they should take measures ).
It is possible that PCTools has some servers with The Planet.
iTrendsNET
May 5th, 2010, 01:32 AM
I totally agree with what NoIos said. I too had them host a server for me. The Planet at one time was rather popular. They also are a somewhat huge server hosting company.
Dermot7
May 5th, 2010, 02:10 AM
The Planet.com is host to near the largest number of phishing/scam/malware
domains (source-Netcraft), but because of its size (huge?) the figures may be
somewhat distorted? Siteadvisor also gives poor rating. But I've also noticed
that some security software co's use them(e.g. Avast and Agnitum),so this
must be a good sign also.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2012, Wilders Security Forums