View Full Version : A pure heuristic antivirus software--- ByteHero
NobleT
September 8th, 2009, 11:46 AM
this software is from china,and it is completely depend on heuristic technology to detect virus and trojan etc.It is not any signature get involved.so anyone can try it:D
website:http://www.bytehero.com/english.asp
gerardwil
September 8th, 2009, 12:11 PM
Ikarus doesn't like this hero.
Gerard
lordpake
September 8th, 2009, 12:13 PM
Ikarus doesn't like a lot of things.
Last I checked with a laptop of mine, with a2, Ikarus engine claimed several trojans on editors for well-known PC game ... Official editors even.
So, I am afraid Ikarus really isn't the thing you can place your faith in :D No offence to anyone but they do have horrible rate for f/p's.
gerardwil
September 8th, 2009, 12:24 PM
-{ Quote: "Ikarus doesn't like a lot of things.
Last I checked with a laptop of mine, with a2, Ikarus engine claimed several trojans on editors for well-known PC game ... Official editors even.
So, I am afraid Ikarus really isn't the thing you can place your faith in :D No offence to anyone but they do have horrible rate for f/p's." }-
Several other AV's have this FP then :)
Gerard
LoneWolf
September 8th, 2009, 12:27 PM
-{ Quote: "Several other AV's have this FP then :)
Gerard" }-
9 out of 41 on VirusTotal.
the Tester
September 8th, 2009, 12:38 PM
The exe. gets hits on jotti's from Ikarus,CP Secure, and Sophos as a "trojan- Flux, Generic A or Pakes".
gerardwil
September 8th, 2009, 12:47 PM
Comodo, F-Prot, F-Secure, McAfee, PCTools detect it as well.
Gerard
pbw3
September 8th, 2009, 12:57 PM
NOD didn't show up as one of those detecting it on my upload to Virus Total, and yet it did detect it when I first tried to download it - a variant of Win32/Packed.Themida application..
Is this one of those examples of the real life AV functionality not being fully replicated by the up load scanners..??
simisg
September 8th, 2009, 01:26 PM
mse says is clean iobit 360 also says clean ...... but my mind says no to a software without any serious page and adress to contact.... anyone can put a malicious file to internet with an email for contact
lodore
September 8th, 2009, 02:07 PM
prevx doesnt like it eiether. says its a backdoor trojan.
StevieO
September 8th, 2009, 02:23 PM
As lodore has noted, Prevx does not like it !
I downloaded it and compared it with the Prevx www -
212042
The file size matches Exactly ! might not be the same, but ?
212043
Prevx didn't jump when i unpacked the RAR, but did when i right scanned it
212044
andyman35
September 8th, 2009, 03:04 PM
I uploaded this file to ThreatExpert and the result was inconclusive.It's possible that the software protection used could be triggering a FP as certain malware use similar methodology.
http://www.threatexpert.com/report.aspx?md5=9f4212b3108dbf25a92086e25623a7b2
Graystoke
September 8th, 2009, 03:08 PM
My Eset Smart Security blocked it.
dawgg
September 8th, 2009, 03:38 PM
-{ Quote: "I uploaded this file to ThreatExpert and the result was inconclusive.It's possible that the software protection used could be triggering a FP as certain malware use similar methodology.
http://www.threatexpert.com/report.aspx?md5=9f4212b3108dbf25a92086e25623a7b2" }-
Many trojans have a threatexpert report like that.
Firebytes
September 8th, 2009, 03:45 PM
I ran the file past MalwareBytes and SuperAntiSpyware just to see what they would say and neither found it to be malicious.
Stefan Kurtzhals
September 8th, 2009, 03:45 PM
It's Themida packed, making it hard to analyse.
Strange, Oreans always claimed that Avira reports *every* Themida file... ::)
1timeuserrr
September 8th, 2009, 03:52 PM
A2 AntiMalware (Ikarus scan engine) has just updated it's database and now says it's clean.
the Tester
September 8th, 2009, 04:31 PM
-{ Quote: "A2 AntiMalware (Ikarus scan engine) has just updated it's database and now says it's clean." }-
This looks like a "greyware" find.
No definitive consensus yet.
trjam
September 8th, 2009, 04:38 PM
MSE scanned the download, you could tell it was using its cloud ability because it hung on a few files till finished, but came back clean with it. I would say any detection is a FP.
Zimzi
September 8th, 2009, 04:38 PM
Comodo Instant Malware Analysis result:
http://camas.comodo.com/cgi-bin/submit?file=e37c14a77af39f46ced348bafe09f116089911ec0dba4a1fa75702ecd242eba3
;D
1boss1
September 8th, 2009, 04:41 PM
NIS2009 Doesn't detect anything, here's the Anubis report of the .exe
http://anubis.iseclab.org/?action=result&task_id=158d20982eaedfad41d5678eb8acd223e&format=html
So... Who's game? :argh:
dawgg
September 8th, 2009, 04:43 PM
At the end of the day, I probabily wont use it regardless of its status.
trjam
September 8th, 2009, 04:54 PM
-{ Quote: "At the end of the day, I probabily wont use it regardless of its status." }-
Best post of the thread.:thumb:
Zimzi
September 8th, 2009, 05:30 PM
-{ Quote: "At the end of the day, I probabily wont use it regardless of its status." }-
There is always some curious dumb who will use it.
So, I did it. :argh:
Avira, Threatfire and Malwarebyte did not find malware, there were no problems with OS etc. Looks like crapware rather than the malware. Slow scanning speed and very poor detection when testing with a smaller number of newer malware samples (Avira, Avast and Threatfire, for example, detect all of the samples).
PrevxHelp
September 8th, 2009, 05:39 PM
I'll analyze this sample shortly but any legitimate software company, let alone an "AV", which packs its files with Themida is doing something very, very wrong ::)
the Tester
September 8th, 2009, 05:52 PM
-{ Quote: "There is always some curious dumb who will use it.
So, I did it. :argh:
" }-
I installed it and ran it too.
I think it's just a junky scanner. Unless Prevxhelp finds otherwise, it looks like a false positive.
prairie dog
September 8th, 2009, 06:46 PM
I posted it on MBAM's forum and this what I got
-{ Quote: "MBAM will not be adding detection of this file or the install as it is niether rogue nor does it perform any malicious behaviour beyond using an advanced packer(Themida) which has been seen to be used by malware before.
This in no way is an endorsement of that software either." }-
1boss1
September 8th, 2009, 06:53 PM
-{ Quote: "MBAM will not be adding detection of this file or the install as it is niether rogue nor does it perform any malicious behaviour beyond using an advanced packer(Themida) which has been seen to be used by malware before.
This in no way is an endorsement of that software either. " }-
Translation: It's not malicious but boy is it junk. :argh:
Just kidding.
I wonder why they have opted to use Themida of all things. The Anubis scan looked pretty benign, in fact it doesn't look like it does much to the system at all.
Meriadoc
September 8th, 2009, 07:37 PM
Infected with Themida :D
A lot of malware use products such as from Oreans but not all programs that use a protection system are malware. Saying that, why is ByteHero using it.
NobleT
September 8th, 2009, 08:39 PM
i am sorry to that.i didn't anticipate that this software will be regard as a virus for serveral antivirus.but defenitely it is a no harmful antivirus software.though the detection is mediocre.but it is all pursued by heuristic.i stand by a security forum in china .there is a testing about this software.the detection was keeping 40-50%..Franking speaking it is not very bad for an antivirus which only rely on heuristic :-[
Zombini
September 9th, 2009, 01:19 AM
Sorry but I dont think I will be installing this. Here is what NIS2010 File Insight says.
Love this NIS2010 feature.
dawgg
September 9th, 2009, 06:06 AM
-{ Quote: "Franking speaking it is not very bad for an antivirus which only rely on heuristic :-[" }-
IMO, all this fuzz about software only using heuristics (or even the "cloud") means nothing - at the end of the day, I think a good antimalware software is one which detects/blocks many malware in the wild (hopefully quickly), with little scope for FP or interfering with clean software, regardless of the technology it uses.
-{ Quote: "Sorry but I dont think I will be installing this. Here is what NIS2010 File Insight says.
Love this NIS2010 feature." }-
Looks like a good feature :) - whats the "origin"? - is it the file/website it came from or only the country the file came from (which is pretty useless)?
ronjor
September 9th, 2009, 07:46 AM
A couple of off topic posts were removed. Stick to discussing the software please.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2012, Wilders Security Forums