View Full Version : Searching Experience with Spyware Cease
tesk
July 1st, 2009, 03:07 PM
Hi,
I just came across this product today.
I know alot of antispyware products but never heard of this. My first thought was that is was a rouge, but I don't think it is anymore.
spywarecease[dot]com
Does anyone know something about it?
Some tests?
Anyone using it?
Anyone willing to make a small test?
Thanks,
Tesk
andyman35
July 1st, 2009, 03:14 PM
From what I remember this program is a borderline rogue,full of FPs.Oddly it doesn't appear on Softpedia despite it's 100% SP award.:blink:
tesk
July 1st, 2009, 03:27 PM
Hmm, I just made the link unclickable for a security purpose.
They havn't changed since then?
Rising seems the have a FP on it:
http://virscan.org/report/78a441b5b492eb9cf542ab99aa4b9645.html
Bubba
July 1st, 2009, 03:27 PM
-{ Quote: "My first thought was that is was a rouge, but I don't think it is anymore." }-Hard nosed approach....once a rogue always a rogue
:isay: Enlightening thread @ Spybot's forum....Spyware Cease: False Positive (http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=45519&highlight=spywarecease)
m00nbl00d
July 1st, 2009, 03:51 PM
-{ Quote: "Hard nosed approach....once a rogue always a rogue
:isay: Enlightening thread @ Spybot's forum....Spyware Cease: False Positive (http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=45519&highlight=spywarecease)" }-
I don't understand why those Spyware Cease guys even wasted their and Spybot's team time, just to come to the conclusion is a rogue. They only helped to prove it. lol
chris1341
July 1st, 2009, 04:52 PM
-{ Quote: "
Does anyone know something about it?
" }-
WOT lit uplike a Christmas tree, A2 surf protection blocked the site and MBAM says it's a rogue and they have always been one of the best at rogue detection IMO. That's all I need to know.
If it turns out it's not rogue per bubba's link good luck to them but they would need to do lot to convince me to try it.
Maybe they will come here and defend it?
Cheers
andyman35
July 1st, 2009, 05:50 PM
Even if it isn't a rogue it's a FP monster,so rather than deliberately misleading users it's cr@p.It's been de-listed on Cnet and along with the dodgy Softpedia award,everthing about it screams avoid!
tesk
July 1st, 2009, 07:33 PM
Wow, shocking news.
It isn't a regular rouge, just a sucky antispyware.
Thanks for clearing that off, I don't want to test the software now. I have other tests I could do then.
This topic has been answered, I think. Thanks guys.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2012, Wilders Security Forums