View Full Version : hi guys i just want to know if i accendtly entered a fake website?
kamy
June 12th, 2009, 02:44 AM
hi guys i just want to know if i accedently entered a fake website that may have given
free.avg.com how can i check if this site has malware because it is not displaying correctly and looks fake to me can you help
free.avg.com
vijayind
June 12th, 2009, 03:35 AM
You can use addons/plugins like Pc Tools BrowserDefender (http://www.browserdefender.com/), AVG LinkScanner (http://linkscanner.avg.com/) which scan each page in realtime and tell you incase you visit a malicious site.
TonyW
June 12th, 2009, 07:16 AM
free.avg.com isn't a fake website, which also links to the AVG LinkScanner mentioned in the previous post.
raven211
June 12th, 2009, 07:29 AM
-{ Quote: "free.avg.com isn't a fake website, which also links to the AVG LinkScanner mentioned in the previous post." }-
Correct; it's their official site for the Free Edition.
kamy
June 12th, 2009, 07:56 PM
why did it look funny to me i have jpegs if you want to see
m00nbl00d
June 12th, 2009, 08:27 PM
-{ Quote: "why did it look funny to me i have jpegs if you want to see" }-
Please, let me see them. It may be that, despite the domain is the legit one, that what is being displayed is actually fake. Meaning that either your DNS IPs or your HOSTS file has been hijacked.
kamy
June 13th, 2009, 06:04 AM
Hi i went on the avg
free.avg.com
but i know it is the right link and official website but it just did not look right can anyone tell me what this was down too its displaying fine at the moment but not yesterday
http://i39.tinypic.com/2ntikua.jpg
http://i41.tinypic.com/2e3zxwi.jpg
http://i41.tinypic.com/dqrihl.jpg
Thanks
kamy
June 13th, 2009, 06:15 AM
hi moonblood they are here on this new post
but i know it is the right link and official website but it just did not look right can anyone tell me what this was down too its displaying fine at the moment but not yesterday
http://i39.tinypic.com/2ntikua.jpg
http://i41.tinypic.com/2e3zxwi.jpg
http://i41.tinypic.com/dqrihl.jpg
Thanks
raven211
June 13th, 2009, 06:49 AM
To me it just seems the pages are not being loaded completely/correctly. Have you checked for example the free version to see what its executable is named if you try to download it?
kamy
June 13th, 2009, 07:21 AM
hi raven i didnt download anything from there i was just curious why the page was like that? i thought maybe phising
moonblood thought Maybe my DNS IPs or your HOSTS file has been hijacked.
i dont know what that means
vijayind
June 13th, 2009, 10:08 AM
Kamy, If you think you are being redirected to wrong website for "free.avg.com". Just download the free version from trusted download sites like:
Download.com:
http://download.com/AVG-Anti-Virus-Free-Edition/3000-2239_4-10320142.html
FileHippo.com:
http://www.filehippo.com/download_avg_antivirus/
Softpedia.com:
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Antivirus/AVG-Free-Edition.shtml
raven211
June 13th, 2009, 10:34 AM
-{ Quote: "hi raven i didnt download anything from there i was just curious why the page was like that? i thought maybe phising
moonblood thought Maybe my DNS IPs or your HOSTS file has been hijacked.
i dont know what that means" }-
Okay, if you're not interested in the software, I wouldn't bother. ;D I would check the downloadable executables for any signs though, or maybe try a different web-browser or see if other sites have similar behavior.
If those things are hijacked (common in spyware and adware), there's a high-risk you get redirected to fake-websites or sites that were not where you were heading. Are you by any chance using IE?
m00nbl00d
June 13th, 2009, 10:50 AM
-{ Quote: "hi raven i didnt download anything from there i was just curious why the page was like that? i thought maybe phising
moonblood thought Maybe my DNS IPs or your HOSTS file has been hijacked.
i dont know what that means" }-
I agree with raven211 when he says it's more like the pages not loading properly.
Which browser do you use? What contents do you block with it?
Do you know how monitor connections with firewall? When entering the domain free.avg.com, which IP is it resolving to? (an IP is a sequence of numbers like 255.255.255.000 (this is just an example)). In this case free.avg.com should resolve to 77.67.44.202. If it doesn't, then if your system has been compromised.
JRViejo
June 13th, 2009, 01:46 PM
kamy, if you are using Firefox, with the NoScript add-on, perhaps you need to allow free.avg.com for the page to resolve correctly.
kamy
June 13th, 2009, 05:54 PM
Hi guys im using ie browser so do i not need to investigate this further??? if i did not download anything just viewed the page then came back out??
raven i dont seem to be getting redirected and every other site displays fine it was just the avg one ?
plus is firefox safe i have heard its more vulunrable to attacks then internet explorer
moonblood which firewall would this be hardware? and i have no add blocker at the moment i asked about ad block for ie in another post but then i was thinking just get firefox but then the vulunbility argument makes me think again? please advise aand thanks for the help guys
thanks for the safe websites link vijay i will use them too
TonyW
June 14th, 2009, 07:49 AM
-{ Quote: "plus is firefox safe i have heard its more vulunrable to attacks then internet explorer" }-I think you'll find it's the other way round. However, Firefox has had vulnerabilities which have been fixed, and no doubt there will be more in the future.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2012, Wilders Security Forums