View Full Version : quick heal antivirus is rogue?
simisg
June 3rd, 2009, 07:57 AM
http://www.2-spyware.com/remove-quick-heal-antivirus-plus-2009.html
sourav_gho
June 3rd, 2009, 07:59 AM
-{ Quote: "http://www.2-spyware.com/remove-quick-heal-antivirus-plus-2009.html" }-
No it is absolutely false claim,
Quickheal is a big MNC dedicated to security suite, they have Headquarter in Pune, India. And I am staying in Pune, so I know that;)
LoneWolf
June 3rd, 2009, 08:12 AM
-{ Quote: "http://www.2-spyware.com/remove-quick-heal-antivirus-plus-2009.html" }-
That site is questionable itself.
Bogus, IMO.
simisg
June 3rd, 2009, 08:18 AM
i find this site in google after i try to install quick heal but comodo and kaspersky found a trojan in quick heal
wot says 2-spyware.com is ok and clean
icr
June 3rd, 2009, 10:02 AM
-{ Quote: "i find this site in google after i try to install quick heal but comodo and kaspersky found a trojan in quick heal
wot says 2-spyware.com is ok and clean" }-
Heres the official site
Quick Heal (http://www.quickheal.co.in/)
It is an Antivirus Company from India (Pune) specified by sourav_gho
Have a look at Here (http://www.quickheal.co.in/about.asp)
BTW from where did you download the setup file ???
sourav_gho
June 3rd, 2009, 10:10 AM
-{ Quote: "Heres the official site
Quick Heal (http://www.quickheal.co.in/)
It is an Antivirus Company from India (Pune) specified by sourav_gho
Have a look at Here (http://www.quickheal.co.in/about.asp)
BTW from where did you download the setup file ???" }-
Here you are my friend.. here is the link for downloading quickheal:;)
http://www.quickheal.co.in/downloads.asp
the Tester
June 3rd, 2009, 11:24 AM
It looks to me like 2-spyware.com is basing that opinion on two false positives.
simisg
June 3rd, 2009, 11:49 AM
i have download from the same site you say http://www.quickheal.co.in/downloads.asp try to install this with comodo or kaspersky and you will see..........
and i know that quick heal is from an old respect company from India thats why ask?
lordpake
June 3rd, 2009, 11:57 AM
That's clearly a false positive. Trojan detection in other security software is not that uncommon, considering what that software usually does.
I take it you have notified for example Kaspersky about this detection?
andyman35
June 3rd, 2009, 12:09 PM
-{ Quote: "That site is questionable itself.
Bogus, IMO." }-
2-spyware.com
It's a dubious site according to quite a few observers.
andyman35
June 3rd, 2009, 12:18 PM
-{ Quote: "Heres the official site
Quick Heal (http://www.quickheal.co.in/)
It is an Antivirus Company from India (Pune) specified by sourav_gho
Have a look at Here (http://www.quickheal.co.in/about.asp)
BTW from where did you download the setup file ???" }-
According to their site it's checkmark certified and also it has received VB100 awards,definitely not a rogue.
Nebulus
June 3rd, 2009, 12:23 PM
Let's analyze the site's statements:
-{ Quote: "
At first glance, it looks like a regular antivirus program, however the first sign of a fraud is that Quick Heal AntiVirus Plus 2009 installer downloaded from it's homepage contains a trojan virus.
" }-
This, in itself might be a problem, but it also can happen if the antivirus site was compromised by a hacker for instance. This is not a good thing for an antivirus company, but also it's not unheard of... Other well known antivirus sites were hacked, that doesn't mean their product were rogue software.
-{ Quote: "
What is more, this software is advertised on various untrusted and suspicious websites.
" }-
That proves nothing. What do they mean by suspicious and untrusted? No evidence is provided to support their accusations. Even more, what if i host a "suspicious" site (whatever that means), and I decide to advertise Quickheal to earn some extra cash? That means the product I support is malware/rogue? I don't think so.
-{ Quote: "
Don't download and install Quick Heal AntiVirus Plus 2009 onto your computer, because it might install trojan virus or download additional parasites like spyware and malware.
" }-
Another unsubstantiated accusation. No traffic logs, screenshots or other proof was provided, just an affirmation.
andyman35
June 3rd, 2009, 12:34 PM
It may well be listed on some dubious download sites but it's also on the likes of Techrepublic and download.com
RejZoR
June 3rd, 2009, 03:19 PM
QuickHeal is a legit program. It may not be the best and its track record is crappy, but it's clearly not a rogue.
webster
June 3rd, 2009, 08:13 PM
-{ Quote: "
wot says 2-spyware.com is ok and clean" }-
http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/2-spyware.com :dry:
quanzi_1507
June 4th, 2009, 12:18 AM
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/antivirus-partners/windows-xp.aspx
There is no way MS would chose a rogue company as its antivirus provider.
andyman35
June 4th, 2009, 08:21 AM
-{ Quote: "http://www.microsoft.com/windows/antivirus-partners/windows-xp.aspx
There is no way MS would chose a rogue company as its antivirus provider." }-
There are those that would say that MS itself is a rogue company.:P
m00nbl00d
June 4th, 2009, 09:11 AM
-{ Quote: "There are those that would say that MS itself is a rogue company.:P" }-
Tell me about it! They wanted me to pay for getting support, I should be getting for free, because they mess up things in their own system, which I paid for!
xpsunny
June 5th, 2009, 03:27 AM
-{ Quote: "http://www.2-spyware.com/remove-quick-heal-antivirus-plus-2009.html" }-
At the end of the page...it says...
• Malwarebytes Anti Malware - Review - Download
• Malwarebytes Anti Malware - Review - Download
• Windows Defender - Review - Download
LOL, does WD and MB removes QH?
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2012, Wilders Security Forums