PDA

View Full Version : Be careful, please.


m00nbl00d
April 20th, 2009, 02:32 PM
Hello,

Today, while visiting one of the domains I daily visit to check on security related news, http://ddanchev.blogspot.com/, I pressed in one of the links on the "Infowar Blogosphere", ScanSafe's Blog. I have never visited this domain before. The ScanSafe's Blog, that is.

As soon as I pressed the link I got this alert - http://linkscanner.explabs.com/linkscanner/checksite.aspx?NS=ChkOnly&SRC=apps.ExpLabs.com&CS=http://blog.scansafe.com/

I was using Opera, so I switched to IE 8 and searched google for blog(.)scansafe(.)com, which all LinkScanner, BrowserDefender, WOT rate as green.
This is just a wild guess, but, could be possible that this domain has been hijacked to redirect to a domain with malicious active content, otherwise LinkScanner background protection wouldn't block access to it.

I'll be getting in touch with LinkScanner for them to take a look.

Meanwhile, for those who don't know how to safely check a possible malicious domain, don't visit that domain.


Thank you

innerpeace
April 20th, 2009, 11:37 PM
I went there thinking Avira's WebGuard would give us a little more info but it didn't alert to anything. I also allowed scansafe through NoScript in Firefox 3.0.7.

I was also using Returnil's Session Lock and Firefox in Sandboxie.