PDA

View Full Version : "Powered by Sonic"?


dangitall
March 5th, 2004, 07:30 PM
This is a post from another, more generalized 'tech' board I frequent:

"Does anyone know what Powered by Sonic really is? The info
I've found so far says that it's a password protection
software. The reason that I'm asking is that I keep getting
this alert pop-up asking me to veiw their updates. If you
click yes it takes you to this firehunt site that is nothing
but a bunch of ads.

It's getting annoying! Everytime I start my comp I get that
message about a minute later. If anyone knows how to stop
this or whether or not I can delete sonic form add/remove
programs without hurting anything, PLEASE, let me know."

I've tried searching for both 'Powered by Sonic' and 'firehunt' but found nothing useful. Does anyone here have anything to offer or suggest? It's already been suggested to him that he run HJT and post a log (either there or here), but he seems 'resistant' to that. At this point, I'd settle for any info. Thanks.

snowbound
March 5th, 2004, 07:58 PM
Hi dangitall :)

The best solution has already been suggested, HijackThis. ;)




snowbound

dangitall
March 5th, 2004, 08:11 PM
Thank you, Snowbound. I will reiterate my suggestion re: HijackThis to this fella.

Harold77
March 6th, 2004, 09:21 AM
I noticed the same thing when I helped my niece set up her new Dell 5150 laptop yesterday.

I was pressed for time so I really didn't have a chance to investigate what was causing it... if you have a Dell also, it's probably something pre-installed and should be in the documentation somewhere about what it actually is.

My niece is out of town (in Washington D.C. with the laptop) for about a week at a conference, so it may be a while before I can look into it further... it was extremely annoying getting that message popping up at every boot-up though.:)



I did a little research and, since her new laptop has a DVD/CD-RW/DVD burner, I think this software related to the DVD burner http://www.sonic.com/products/default.asp is probably what's causing the "Powered by Sonic" check for updates messages.:)

dangitall
March 6th, 2004, 10:20 AM
Thanks - I'll pass this on as well. I'm pretty sure that someone else there came up with this, but it's always best to have a confirmation.

Mike S
March 15th, 2004, 07:55 AM
Father in law has new dell with a cd burner. its software is from Sonic. Even though auto check for updates is turned off it still checks when connected to net.

Havent found a hack to delete setting yet.

Harold77
March 15th, 2004, 09:20 AM
If you have a firewall, just deny permission to that application for internet access.

Or, since you can probably find better, more capable DVD, CD writing software such as Nero 6 or Easy CD Creator, you can just uninstall the pre-installed DVD software that came with the computer and avoid all the potential spyware and phone-home software that computer vendors are famous for installing on new computers.:)

Arthur Debbert
March 15th, 2004, 02:23 PM
:)

If you have "record Now" I think you'll find that by running it and clicking on Help and then update, you'll get the same update manager that you see if you click the pop-up and then yes.

So I think this pop-up is the update for record now which is a sonic product for your burner. Herold, you got it right.

Thanks

Hutchy
March 26th, 2004, 12:38 PM
See - http://support.sonic.com/kb/default.asp?type=desktop&product=recordnow

dangitall
March 26th, 2004, 06:39 PM
Thanks all! The information has been forwarded.

KateS
March 27th, 2004, 03:54 PM
You know what I did when I got that same message? I just went into my add/remove programmes and removed the programme named Sonic Update Manager. Since its removal I have had no more pop-ups. Hope this helps. ;D

JackMan
March 29th, 2004, 10:36 AM
1) Start RecordNow.
2) Click on the Options (wrench) icon.
3) Click on "General."
4) Under "Startup," remove the checkmark from "Check for updates."
5) Click on "OK."

lyberty
March 31st, 2004, 07:18 PM
-{ Quote: " quoting: JackMan link=board=18;threadid=23753;start=0#msg151643 date=1080574587]
1) Start RecordNow.
2) Click on the Options (wrench) icon.
3) Click on "General."
4) Under "Startup," remove the checkmark from "Check for updates."
5) Click on "OK."
" }-

Note that the "Startup" option is not available on the IBM OEM version of this Software,
called "IBM RecordNow, Version 5.1"
(came bundled with my IBM T40 laptop).

Note also that the IBM RecordNow program has a companion program called IBM DLA,
which is also "powered by sonic", and may also therefore be generating these messages.

Wiseowl
April 1st, 2004, 05:46 PM
Folks... I think everyone has been hoodwinked. "Powered by Sonic" has nothing to do with updating any of "Sonic’s” software products (i.e. DVD players etc.).

I believe that "Powered by Sonic" is part of C2 Media Ltd and their “Lop.com” program. It is an all-in-one “Spyware” – “Adware” – “Hijacker” application. It will take over your home page, search engine etc.

This is what I suspect anyway.

Wiseowl

Zeke
April 1st, 2004, 07:46 PM
Hi,

I dont' think this is spyware. I started getting this message right after I installed a DVD burner - and Sonic's software - to my system.

Lavasoft's AdAware didn't turn up anything, but I did see the Sonic Update Manager in my add/remove. I removed it, and I suspect this will take care of my problem.

Cheerz,
zeke

rubic3
April 2nd, 2004, 12:07 PM
Another simple option:

- Open Start Menu
- Choose Run
- Type: msconfig
- Choose Startup tab
- Uncheck "sgtray"

controler
April 2nd, 2004, 02:59 PM
The thing I like about the new HP's is they send the recovery CD's and also JUSt the OS CD so you don't have to install all the other garbage if you chose not to. Along with that they send
MyDVD (Sonic)
and
Easy CD Creator.

controler

CoffeeBoy
April 5th, 2004, 02:40 PM
I checked Sonic's website. It's cd burning software that comes bundled on a lot of computers. If you never want to receive the pop up again. The software manufacturer's website says that you can remove the Sonic Download Manager program using the add/remove program function. It will not affect the functionality of the cd burner software.

WMorehouse
May 21st, 2004, 08:18 AM
I just started receiving the update message this morning and found your posting with a google search for "powered by sonic". I have a DVD player/CD Writer in my PC and run software called "record now" from Sonic to record CDs. Apparently this software is causing the update messages. The support information link in add remove programs brought me to the www.sonic.com website.

SvF
October 9th, 2004, 02:09 PM
XP:

Start
Settings
Control Panel
Add Remove Programs
Find Sonic Update Manager
Remove it

Basically my feeling is any program that installs ANY other program is Hijacking, however this seems to be just a very crappy ploy to get you to go to their site and buy more Sonic garbage.

Annoyed User
March 2nd, 2005, 06:05 PM
Go to your control panel, look for "Sonic update manager", and uninstall it to get rid of the reoccuring requests to upgrade.

Jerry A
April 17th, 2005, 02:00 PM
I've been getting this popup periodically for some time and I too did a Google to find this Forum and did go to my CP Add/Remove Programs and deleted the Sonic Update Manager and trust that will save the annoyances. It may be interesting to note that I have no DVD read or write hard/software.. But with further examining Sonic.com Knowledge base I noted a software I use named Backup MyPC Published by Stomp Inc and Powered / Copyrighted by 2002 VERITAS Software Inc.,. listed at the URL shown in response #9 (above)

Thank each one of you for your imput... Keep it up, nobody knows whom you may help.. Trick is to decifer the truth/false of it all..

Anon
September 17th, 2005, 10:10 PM
Thanks -- I had just done a clean reinstallation on a client's computer and almost passed out when I got that annoying pop-up dialog box. The previous installation had been heavily infested (Spybot S&D finding over 800 detections, AVG finding over 200 virus infections, crap everywhere such that it was hard to run basic programs like IE, explorer, and control panel w/o getting a BSOD) yeah so let's just say I'd seen enough spyware for the day :) Thanks so much for your help!

--Jay