View Full Version : My Free Antivirus-what kind of a stranger is it?
Windfresh
November 3rd, 2008, 10:59 AM
Hi all!
While browsing via Freewarefiles.com (http://www.freewarefiles.com/My-Free-Antivirus_program_45518.html) I run into this unknown antivirus - My Free Antivirus 2.0 (http://smartpctools.com/free_antivirus/).
Never heard of it before. Freewarefiles.com (http://www.freewarefiles.com/)seems to be a clean and respected site, so it is not meant to be a rogue software. Will anybody clarify the matter and tell me and us what this software is in reality?
Thanks all for the future information!
pugmug
November 3rd, 2008, 11:52 AM
I have not used it as it has only been out to the public for 5 days.They say they have all these awards, http://smartpctools.com/awards.html and ask for your name and e-mail.Do you feel lucky and want to try it out?If so then let us know what you think about it.I will leave it alone for a while myself.
midway40
November 3rd, 2008, 12:15 PM
Those "awards" are bogus. I read where someone took a text file, changed the extension to .exe, submitted it and won some of those "awards" ::)
wtsinnc
November 3rd, 2008, 12:22 PM
It appears to be a descendant of the VCOM antivirus application; same company with a new GUI styled to resemble the Avira.
Like pugmug, I'll wait before trying this one out.
pandlouk
November 3rd, 2008, 12:24 PM
-{ Quote: "Hi all!
While browsing via Freewarefiles.com (http://www.freewarefiles.com/My-Free-Antivirus_program_45518.html) I run into this unknown antivirus - My Free Antivirus 2.0 (http://smartpctools.com/free_antivirus/).
Never heard of it before. Freewarefiles.com (http://www.freewarefiles.com/)seems to be a clean and respected site, so it is not meant to be a rogue software. Will anybody clarify the matter and tell me and us what this software is in reality?
Thanks all for the future information!" }-
I just gave it a try.
It is ok, no rogue software. It will give you 1-2 pubblicity popups the first time you run it, but you have the choice to select "Do not show this window again".
It uses the NictaTech Software engine and database (http://www.nictasoft.com/).
Panagiotis
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2012, Wilders Security Forums