View Full Version : Is Movie6.net a dangerous site, or...
HandsOff
November 2nd, 2008, 06:38 PM
...or is this a false positive? see the attached pop up:
I should add that I have not watched movies online before, but was fascinated when I was at a friends house and they were doing so. I don't understand the issues, or the type of threat that might be involved. Their computer seemed fine. What is going on here?
snowbound
November 2nd, 2008, 07:28 PM
Found this on the ESET Smart Security subforum :-\
http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1281427
snowbound
cheater87
November 3rd, 2008, 12:06 AM
WOT gives it a healthy rating.
http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/movie6.net
HandsOff
November 8th, 2008, 01:09 AM
Sorry to be so long before replying. I did read the thread that was linked to. ESET's explanation was reasonable, but not all that convincing. On the other hand, my friends computer stopped working the next day! That is no exaggeration. It seems reasonable to assume there was some connection.
BTW, he was using Firefox3 for a browser, but I am not sure about the rest of his set up. I have to admit that I am tempted to try it, on the premise that I may have better protection.
Does this site require software installation? I still don't really get how this is done, since the movie apparently is not downloaded, but is seen online by "streaming video" (if that is the right term for it).
I'd like to hear some more voices as to if this is likely to be safe or not.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2009, Wilders Security Forums