PDA

View Full Version : Kasperskysales


littleblue62
May 15th, 2008, 04:58 PM
I'm trialing Kaspersky Internet Security and really like it so far. I found this link to purchase for a great price and want to know if this site is legitmate.

ht tp://kasperskysale.com/index.html

bigc73542
May 15th, 2008, 05:09 PM
It looks dodgy to me. I think I would do some real investigating of this site before I purchased anything from them. Even the Kaspersky name is blurry.

Macstorm
May 15th, 2008, 05:14 PM
hmm.. I've never seen this before, not sure if i'd trust them. The site is hosted by Hostgator :shifty: the only way to contact them is through email...

littleblue62
May 15th, 2008, 05:17 PM
Thanks for your replies. It looked suspicious to me, but I thought I'd ask anyway.

Baz_kasp
May 15th, 2008, 05:18 PM
I wouldn't trust them

The company was incorporated about 2 months ago in the UK and they take payment thru paypal, not the normal "affiliate" way which goes through the official estore. We discussed this on the KL forum about 2 weeks ago and came to the conclusion it is safer to buy either via the estore or an authorised retailer/reseller.

By the way, if you were with another AV before kaspersky, you can take advantage of this offer:

www.kaspersky.com/switch


and if you are in the UK, send me a PM or google for it and you will find a voucher for 50% for a limited period :)

lodore
May 15th, 2008, 05:24 PM
if your in the uk amazon normaly do cheap deals.

littleblue62
May 15th, 2008, 05:45 PM
-{ Quote: "By the way, if you were with another AV before kaspersky, you can take advantage of this offer:

www.kaspersky.com/switch" }-
Thanks, I will definitely check it out.

JasSolo
May 15th, 2008, 05:54 PM
Works like a charm....just bought a key for KAV....Running it on KAV2009, with absolutely no problems. You wont get it cheaper, I think :)


Cheers

Macstorm
May 15th, 2008, 06:00 PM
-{ Quote: "Works like a charm....just bought a key for KAV....Running it on KAV2009, with absolutely no problems. You wont get it cheaper, I think :)


Cheers" }-
Hi Jas,

what site are you referring to?

JasSolo
May 15th, 2008, 06:01 PM
Hi Mac,

I'm referring to the site you don't trust :)

Macstorm
May 15th, 2008, 06:08 PM
Jas, did they give you an activation code or a keyfile? if it's latter problem is not if it's working now but until when it lasts... i mean until it gets blacklisted if it's illegal.

Baz_kasp
May 15th, 2008, 06:12 PM
convert your code into a keyfile at https://activation.kaspersky.com, open it in notepad and see which branch of KL issued it. According to the registration data for that company it should be KL UK.

JasSolo
May 15th, 2008, 06:25 PM
-{ Quote: "convert your code into a keyfile at https://activation.kaspersky.com, open it in notepad and see which branch of KL issued it. According to the registration data for that company it should be KL UK." }-

...and what if it's not showing that company? ;D


Cheers

Baz_kasp
May 15th, 2008, 06:37 PM
Well if it is a dodgy key, will most likely mention China somewhere...

JasSolo
May 15th, 2008, 06:56 PM
Well, I took the chance and bought it, it's working fine for now, BUT it is from China somewhere....maybe It'll get blacklisted, I don't know?! Even if it's cheap and you wont lose that much money, if it's get BL'ed, I would still say to the rest of you...STAY AWAY!


Cheers

DonKid
May 16th, 2008, 07:24 AM
I won't be surprised if I see your post saying that your key is blacklisted.

Edwin024
May 16th, 2008, 07:53 AM
I don't like the switch option that much. The normal license can be used on at least two pc's. But the switch license only works on one machine, Kaspersky told me....

I looked at the link that first poster posted and came out at e-junkie.com as the company that offers this all. Googling made clear (?) that e-junkie is legitimate...

Baz_kasp
May 16th, 2008, 08:19 AM
Well the website WHOIS comes up with " UK MEGA GROUP LIMITED"

Doing a quick search on them shows they were incorporated 11/03/2008 so they are a very new business with pretty much no track record so far.

Edwin024
May 16th, 2008, 08:21 AM
hover over the download links on the website and see where they go to: e-junkie.com.

Baz_kasp
May 16th, 2008, 08:27 AM
AFAIK ejunkie is just an e-cart...nothing more, nothing less. They do not actually sell the licenses.

-{ Quote: "E-junkie provides shopping cart and buy now buttons to let you sell downloads and tangible goods on your website, eBay, MySpace, Google Base, CraigsList and other websites using PayPal, Google Checkout, Authorize.Net, TrialPay, 2CheckOut and ClickBank.

For merchants selling downloads, we automate and secure the digital delivery of files and codes. If you are selling tangible goods, we automate the shipping calculation and inventory management. Our shopping cart has a built in sales tax, VAT, packaging and shipping cost calculator.

You can sell ebooks, sell mp3 tracks and albums, sell software, icons, fonts, artwork, phone cards, event tickets, cds, posters, books, t-shirts and almost everything else you want to sell.

E-junkie has no transaction limit, no bandwidth limit, no setup fee and no transaction fee." }-

EliteKiller
May 16th, 2008, 09:53 AM
I sent an email to USA Kaspersky Labs support inquiring about Kasperskysales.com

ankupan
May 17th, 2008, 07:26 AM
just see at the bottom of home page

KasperskySale.com - Reseller of Kaspersky Products

The Hammer
May 17th, 2008, 07:52 AM
-{ Quote: "just see at the bottom of home page

KasperskySale.com - Reseller of Kaspersky Products" }-And I'm the legal heir to the Russian Czars.;) ;D Lets see what EliteKiller finds out. Just because a web site states something doesn't make it so.

Teknokrat
May 17th, 2008, 09:05 AM
-{ Quote: "just see at the bottom of home page (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/gullible)

KasperskySale.com - Reseller of Kaspersky Products" }-
ok ::)

zfactor
May 20th, 2008, 08:14 AM
i know someone who bought from them and also recieved an actual email with their user name and password directly from kaspersky for their tech stuff.. it said it was active and had their info in the email. they have also checked online in their "tech area" with the user name and password and everything seemed to check out. the lic code was under their name and imo that seems like it would be legit then.. no way if they registered it under their own name it could be a blacklisted key?????

Baz_kasp
May 20th, 2008, 08:32 AM
Well if it does mention china in the keyfile (as stated before in the thread)...then the lic. is almost certainly not valid as it is being sold to regions other than it was destined for..... either stolen or chinese keys being sold at a cut down price.

If you try to dial tech support with a key like that I do not think they will be too sympathetic.

I will try and ask about this website.

Schouw
May 20th, 2008, 01:42 PM
I just checked with my guys - it's not legit.
Please don't buy from there.

EliteKiller
May 20th, 2008, 02:43 PM
-{ Quote: "I just checked with my guys - it's not legit.
Please don't buy from there." }-
I emailed Kaspersky US support on Friday regarding kasperskysales.c0m, and so far I have not received a response. It's a good thing I don't need technical support. :thumbd:

DonKid
May 20th, 2008, 02:43 PM
It isn't legit.

http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=69602

Sjoeii
May 20th, 2008, 02:43 PM
-{ Quote: "I just checked with my guys - it's not legit.
Please don't buy from there." }-
Thanx Roel

Schouw
May 20th, 2008, 03:08 PM
-{ Quote: "I emailed Kaspersky US support on Friday regarding kasperskysales.c0m, and so far I have not received a response. It's a good thing I don't need technical support. :thumbd:" }-
I'll ask around what's up with that. I'm suspecting the response to your question has been delayed because it wasn't technical and had to be forwarded.