View Full Version : website with malicious code?
zlad
April 19th, 2008, 03:06 PM
Hi everyone!
I would have a question!
My ESET Smart Security begin to block the warez-bb.org. It says, the website contains malicious code, so it was blocked. My question is, if I set warez-bb by the excluded adress, and one my download maybe contains any virus or something, the ESS won't see the virus, or just won't see during the time of downloading? I don't undestand this anyway, because warez-bb (I know, it's illegal a bit::)) haven't given to me any "present" yet, although I used it for a long time. And there are lot of websites (crack.ms and so on..),that aren't blocked by ESS, although they are reallly dangerous.
P.S.: Sorry for my english!
zlad
I saw in the forum, other people have the same problem ( one of them at least with the same site)... I don't like, when somebody or something says to me, what is the dangerous. I very like ESS, but now I'm a bit sad.
ASpace
April 19th, 2008, 03:14 PM
-{ Quote: "if I set warez-bb by the excluded adress, and one my download maybe contains any virus or something, the ESS won't see the virus, or just won't see during the time of downloading?" }-
Won't see/detect the threat during download but if the real-time file system protection is enabled , it will be detected upon save or on-access.
-{ Quote: "(I know, it's illegal a bit::)) " }-
Yeah , just .... just .. a bit ... :doubt: :lurking:
PaulB2005
April 19th, 2008, 03:19 PM
I notice suddenly a lot of people are complaining that warez-bb is blocked.
Makes you wonder how many of them are actually paying for NOD32 in the first place.....
-{ Quote: "I don't like, when somebody or something says to me, what is the dangerous. " }-
So why have an anti virus in the first place?
zlad
April 19th, 2008, 03:23 PM
Thanks for your reply.
So I don't be totally unprotected. Anyway I set everything to the highest level in ESS, and I use Returnil, and NoScript, and I haven't got anything form warez-bb. I don't understand this whole thing... I payed for something, and they want to tell me...Do you know, what is contained the list of the blocked sites? Is it comes with an update?
zlad
April 19th, 2008, 03:32 PM
Dear Paul, I have a legal license for ESS, and I very like the lot of free movie at warez-bb. So I'm a real criminal... I think, an AV have to block the viruses etc., not the sites. But I don't think, that we could agree about this.
ASpace
April 19th, 2008, 04:19 PM
-{ Quote: "So I'm a real criminal..." }-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oSQQ1NqOaA4&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dhnCrB34uBA
wrathchild
April 19th, 2008, 05:08 PM
Heh...if people can't go on warez sites they can't be sure that their AV software actually work ;)
Nitrous
April 19th, 2008, 06:14 PM
It's simple to add this site in exceptions... if you trust this site
tsb
April 20th, 2008, 11:00 AM
yes, but there needs to be a list and the exact reason the site is on the list somewhere
not everyone visiting a sharing/warez site is a criminal or failed to purchase ESS
I personally like to get lots of old TV shows and cartoons from them and recently purchased a two PC ESS license.
solcroft
April 20th, 2008, 01:48 PM
I think the main issue here isn't whether the user cares about security or not by visiting a purportedly "malicious" site - it's the question of whether the website is clean or does indeed contains malicious code elements. And if the website is clean, I for one don't welcome the idea of blocking access to it: ESET's customers are paying money for an antivirus scanner, not for a parental control software-wannabe.
BadLTD
April 20th, 2008, 03:03 PM
I am also having the same problem.How can I fix this?
fred22
April 20th, 2008, 03:59 PM
like this...
strange...
only thing i noticed,Protowall blocks the site also
Packet to "Hijacked IP Block, fake emule servers, iframedol..." ( 58.65.233.185 ) blocked. [protocol: TCP - src: 1186 / dst: 80]
not sure the reason why eset blocks this tough...could be someone reported this site with cracked nod's or something to do with the domain?!
there could be malicious scripts? running on the site..
BadLTD
April 20th, 2008, 04:47 PM
Well that kind of works.I can acess the main site but not the forums and other sections.It keeps blocking other links with the same site.
Nitrous
April 20th, 2008, 06:23 PM
enter string: (3w).warez-bb.org/*.*
zlad
April 21st, 2008, 01:44 PM
-{ Quote: "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oSQQ1NqOaA4&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dhnCrB34uBA" }-
This second video...:)I'll turn over a new leaf!
midgo
April 24th, 2008, 09:29 AM
No matter what settings we use it still is blocking this site in some way.
Any other advice:(
ronjor
April 24th, 2008, 05:50 PM
Off topic post removed. Please note this is the ESET Products support forum.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2012, Wilders Security Forums