kingsbry
March 12th, 2008, 09:32 PM
I've been using Snoop Free v1.07 -- for ~25 days -- and also ZoneAlarm Free (for much longer). Today, SnoopFree intervened -- asking me to either approve or deny permission to VSMON.EXE for a Screen Read (see text copy below).
Why would the ZoneAlarm TrueVector Service suddenly need screen access? What could this mean?
Possibly related:
Also, I looked in the ZoneAlarm Control Center 'alerts' tab, and found (only) the following outgoing connection (see image) -- to a site (http://media.newtimes.com/) for which Google lists a bunch of PDF links -- but the home page cannot be accessed ...
(http://www.google.com/search?q=site%3Amedia.newtimes.com)
Why would ZoneAlarm be connecting to ths 'PDF site' -- or is it a malware site in disguise?
http://s2.supload.com/free/err---spy_zonelabs.jpg/view/
---
Alert Dialog --- from SnoopFree Privacy Shield:
-----------------------------------------------------------
" Unauthorized Screen Access
MODERATE PRIVACY RISK
Program Name: "TrueVector Service"
Program Path : "C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe"
The program named above is trying to read your screen. This may be a spy program trying to take a snapshot of your screen. If you want to allow this program to read your screen, you should click the 'Allow Access' button below.
If you're not sure that you want to allow this program to read your screen, you can get more information by clicking the 'More Information' button below. "
-----------------------------------------------------------
Any ideas on what this all means? Or, what to try next?
Thanks,
Bill
Why would the ZoneAlarm TrueVector Service suddenly need screen access? What could this mean?
Possibly related:
Also, I looked in the ZoneAlarm Control Center 'alerts' tab, and found (only) the following outgoing connection (see image) -- to a site (http://media.newtimes.com/) for which Google lists a bunch of PDF links -- but the home page cannot be accessed ...
(http://www.google.com/search?q=site%3Amedia.newtimes.com)
Why would ZoneAlarm be connecting to ths 'PDF site' -- or is it a malware site in disguise?
http://s2.supload.com/free/err---spy_zonelabs.jpg/view/
---
Alert Dialog --- from SnoopFree Privacy Shield:
-----------------------------------------------------------
" Unauthorized Screen Access
MODERATE PRIVACY RISK
Program Name: "TrueVector Service"
Program Path : "C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe"
The program named above is trying to read your screen. This may be a spy program trying to take a snapshot of your screen. If you want to allow this program to read your screen, you should click the 'Allow Access' button below.
If you're not sure that you want to allow this program to read your screen, you can get more information by clicking the 'More Information' button below. "
-----------------------------------------------------------
Any ideas on what this all means? Or, what to try next?
Thanks,
Bill