PDA

View Full Version : Two questions


Ledsr40
August 16th, 2007, 11:43 AM
When I tried to install the Nero update, although there was a window for selecting their ads, Nod said that it was a virus of some adinstaller. It was just normal nero features right?

I unticked automatic updated from the msconfig services menu, but didn't do it in the control panel. Now automatic updates still appears to be running. Doesn't unticking it in the msconfig uninstalls the program?

GhostMan
August 16th, 2007, 11:48 AM
{QUOTE-> When I tried to install the Nero update, although there was a window for selecting their ads, Nod said that it was a virus of some adinstaller. It was just normal nero features right?
<-QUOTE}

Check if you have enabled detecting of unwanted and unsafe applications. If yes, disable it and see if NOD32 still catch those files.

Marcos
August 16th, 2007, 12:55 PM
{QUOTE-> When I tried to install the Nero update, although there was a window for selecting their ads, Nod said that it was a virus of some adinstaller. It was just normal nero features right?
<-QUOTE}

Nope, it was a sort of adware that NOD32 alerted on. Disabling Adware/Spyware/Riskware temporarily in the AMON setup should do the trick.

Ledsr40
August 16th, 2007, 04:37 PM
{QUOTE-> Nope, it was a sort of adware that NOD32 alerted on. Disabling Adware/Spyware/Riskware temporarily in the AMON setup should do the trick. <-QUOTE}
So Nero comes with spyware?

ASpace
August 16th, 2007, 04:43 PM
If you talk about Ask.com toolbar -> not exactly
(from the FAQ)
http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=167358

It is detected as AdInstaller -> see (pictures taken for a thread here in the forum)
http://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=189106&stc=1&d=1176512910


If something else is detected (with other name , for example) , then perhaps it is real threat

Ledsr40
August 16th, 2007, 04:49 PM
{QUOTE-> If you talk about Ask.com toolbar -> not exactly
(from the FAQ)
http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=167358

It is detected as AdInstaller -> see (pictures taken for a thread here in the forum)
http://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=189106&stc=1&d=1176512910


If something else is detected (with other name , for example) , then perhaps it is real threat <-QUOTE}
Yes, it says a variant of win32 adinstaller.