souzapet
July 9th, 2007, 03:51 PM
Hi Folks,
I haven't been around these boards for a while as I've been without a computer for quite some time, however, I now have a much newer machine, running XP - I've always clung to WIN98 in the past - and I've been trying to set it up safely.
At the moment I'm running Sygate as my firewall (is this still safe?), and AVG7 Free and Spyware Blaster, with regular checks from Sybots SD and Adaware. I use Firefox as my browser and use Proxomitron 4.5 as well.
I checked my machine with the various scans and it came up clean so I typed in the address of my online bank, but to my surpise I ended up on a website called www.geenie.co.uk which only had the words "typing error - try again" upon it. It really gave me start and security alarms began going off in my head.
I closed my browser, cleared my cache and Googled the site but came up with nothing. Am I being paranoid? is this a legitimate site which is reached via a typing mistake or is it something sinister?
Ordinarily I wouldn't be so worried but it occurred as I tried to reach my bank so I'm more cautious than usual at such times. I wasn't sure whether I needed to phone my bank and let them know what had happened. Any advice or knowledge of this site would be appreciated.
Thanks.
Souzapet
I haven't been around these boards for a while as I've been without a computer for quite some time, however, I now have a much newer machine, running XP - I've always clung to WIN98 in the past - and I've been trying to set it up safely.
At the moment I'm running Sygate as my firewall (is this still safe?), and AVG7 Free and Spyware Blaster, with regular checks from Sybots SD and Adaware. I use Firefox as my browser and use Proxomitron 4.5 as well.
I checked my machine with the various scans and it came up clean so I typed in the address of my online bank, but to my surpise I ended up on a website called www.geenie.co.uk which only had the words "typing error - try again" upon it. It really gave me start and security alarms began going off in my head.
I closed my browser, cleared my cache and Googled the site but came up with nothing. Am I being paranoid? is this a legitimate site which is reached via a typing mistake or is it something sinister?
Ordinarily I wouldn't be so worried but it occurred as I tried to reach my bank so I'm more cautious than usual at such times. I wasn't sure whether I needed to phone my bank and let them know what had happened. Any advice or knowledge of this site would be appreciated.
Thanks.
Souzapet