View Full Version : I.E. download question
Rainwalker
October 20th, 2006, 11:50 AM
I attempted to download I.E. 7 and was pushed over to switch.atdat.com for the download.
Is this on the up and up ?
Tommy
October 20th, 2006, 11:54 AM
Go from here: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/default.mspx
You will be transfered to a download link which starts with h**p://download.microsoft.com/download/.....
nadirah
October 20th, 2006, 12:16 PM
-{ Quote: "I attempted to download I.E. 7 and was pushed over to switch.atdat.com for the download.
Is this on the up and up ?" }-
I believe the site you are referring to is switch.atdmt.com
Some similar cases, please read:
http://www.spywareinfoforum.com/lofiversion/index.php/t51013.html
NOTICE: Avast Antivirus detects a suspicious component on Internet Explorer 7's homepage. See screenshot below.
EDIT: Sorry, it's an FP.
Happy-Dude
October 21st, 2006, 05:56 PM
Yeah ... I get those too. I set Avast! to silent mode for web scanning so it automatically aborts the connection. I'm okay and I still got IE7 for the updated interface and security.
Anyway, anyone know what the alert was about ? It said it was zulu, but is it dangerous or anything ... ? (For reference, I was told that the address containing the infected sample is always the Microsoft logo ...)
nadirah
October 23rd, 2006, 10:26 AM
-{ Quote: "Yeah ... I get those too. I set Avast! to silent mode for web scanning so it automatically aborts the connection. I'm okay and I still got IE7 for the updated interface and security.
Anyway, anyone know what the alert was about ? It said it was zulu, but is it dangerous or anything ... ? (For reference, I was told that the address containing the infected sample is always the Microsoft logo ...)" }-
The alert was a False Positive which was fixed in a definitions update released on October 20.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2012, Wilders Security Forums