PDA

View Full Version : adware deluxe communications


JonPaulOnLine
September 25th, 2006, 09:06 PM
I can't find info thru google on adware deluxe communications
Any Thoughts?

cheater87
September 25th, 2006, 09:06 PM
Adware.DeluxCommunication I have never gone on any fishy sites. I don't know how i could of gotten this.

cheater87
September 25th, 2006, 09:09 PM
i have this as well. I hope its a FP

JonPaulOnLine
September 25th, 2006, 09:22 PM
-{ Quote: "i have this as well. I hope its a FP" }-


I also see in now on my other PC

I bet its False but will wait for others to comment

cheater87
September 25th, 2006, 09:28 PM
*hands you popcorn for the wait* i quarinined it is that bad?

Oriour
September 25th, 2006, 09:59 PM
Also have it detected on my PC. I'm thinking it's probably a FP.

dfw
September 25th, 2006, 09:59 PM
Same Here, I think it must a false one, (I hope)

cheater87
September 25th, 2006, 10:00 PM
so i release it from quarintine?

dfw
September 25th, 2006, 10:05 PM
-{ Quote: "Same Here, I think it must a false one, (I hope)" }-



Also has not been found by adaware, spybot and NOD, think I keep in quarintine untill it's confirmed to be a FP

cheater87
September 25th, 2006, 10:07 PM
ok so im not the only one that put it in quarintine

Tommy
September 25th, 2006, 10:13 PM
Some infos about that adware:
http://www.tenebril.com/src/info.php?id=4832051&hp=tc

cheater87
September 25th, 2006, 10:18 PM
how the hell did it get on my computer? all i did was download something from download.com. Did i get it from that?

Tommy
September 25th, 2006, 10:24 PM
Seams that all the security programs we have installed still have bugs/lacks.

cheater87
September 25th, 2006, 10:27 PM
so is this from downloading from download.com or is this a false positive?

Tommy
September 25th, 2006, 10:28 PM
-{ Quote: "so is this from downloading from download.com or is this a false positive?" }-
It seams it is a adware registry entry and so a positiv finding, but.....
-{ Quote: "Research
Method of infection: This product can be downloaded from its website, or installed through exploits and other downloaders.
Advertising: Deluxe Communications will deliver pop-up ads to your computer as well as place icons for "various products, services and web sites."
Privacy issues: Deluxe Communications will collect "certain anonymous information about you, your computer and your Internet surfing habits."
Privacy policy: Available here: http://dxcdirect.com/eula.htm" }-

It's used for displaying popups on websides such as explanations for some terms, etc. So i think its not real a dangerous one.

cheater87
September 25th, 2006, 10:30 PM
so how did we get it?

Bubba
September 25th, 2006, 10:32 PM
-{ Quote: "how the hell did it get on my computer?" }-Since I can not see the whole CLSID in the first pic....if it is the below reg entry then it is a False positive against a valid Microsoft Url Search Hook reg entry.

-{ Quote: "[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{CFBFAE00-17A6-11D0-99CB-00C04FD64497}\InProcServer32]
@="D:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\ieframe.dll"
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment"" }-I would also suggest checking if you have the latest update which is 441,108 threats.

Bubba

cheater87
September 25th, 2006, 10:36 PM
well buba the first 9 numbers add up to what you said was the false positive

Bubba
September 25th, 2006, 10:40 PM
-{ Quote: "well buba the first 9 numbers add up to what you said was the false positive" }-Well open up ewido and select the Reports section....select the scan that relates to this find and take a look at the remaining CLSID numbers to see it totally matches. The latest update of 441,108 threats does not flag that reg entry.

Bubba

cheater87
September 25th, 2006, 10:42 PM
NOOOOOOO it didn't save a report

OldRebel
September 25th, 2006, 11:00 PM
-{ Quote: "Well open up ewido and select the Reports section....select the scan that relates to this find and take a look at the remaining CLSID numbers to see it totally matches. The latest update of 441,108 threats does not flag that reg entry.

Bubba" }-
I have that same 441,108 threats listed on Ewido, and it still finds that reg entry:

---------------------------------------------------------
ewido anti-spyware - Scan Report
---------------------------------------------------------

+ Created at: 9:09:52 PM 9/25/2006

+ Scan result:



HKLM\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{CFBFAE00-17A6-11D0-99CB-00C04FD64497} -> Adware.DeluxeCommunications : No action taken.


::Report end

I'm pretty sure it's a false positive for a legit Microsoft URL Search hook. See screenshots.

OldRebel
September 25th, 2006, 11:02 PM
Expanded reg key.

Bubba
September 25th, 2006, 11:05 PM
-{ Quote: "I have that same 441,108 threats listed on Ewido, and it still finds that reg entry:" }-That is odd because I got that update, scanned and nothing was found which is why I felt confident in making the statement. However....as you are showing the whole CLSID from your scan which matches the Microsoft URL Search hook....I agree with you that it's an FP.

cheater87
September 25th, 2006, 11:06 PM
so release it from quarintine?

Tommy
September 25th, 2006, 11:15 PM
-{ Quote: "That is odd because I got that update, scanned and nothing was found which is why I felt confident in making the statement. However....as you are showing the whole CLSID from your scan which matches the Microsoft URL Search hook....I agree with you that it's an FP." }-
Just installed Ewido with 441.108 signatures. It finds also this key.:wacko:
-{ Quote: "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{CFBFAE00-17A6-11D0-99CB-00C04FD64497} -> Adware.DeluxeCommunications : Ignored." }-
A-Squared does not Alert.

cheater87
September 25th, 2006, 11:17 PM
what should i do? its in my quarintine

Carol30
September 25th, 2006, 11:24 PM
Same result here. And same CLSID. Same 441,108 threats listed. I've put it into quarantine, for the time being, presuming it was a f/p. Any confirmation would be greatly appreciated. (Although, I was reading about it, in relation to Surf Sidekick at BC, I do view it, as an overwhelming coincidence. And only that! Simply a coincidence.)

Carol

About: Adware. Deluxe Communications
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic66364.html
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/securityblog/2006/09/24/deluxecommunicationssurf-sidekick-in-disguise/

cheater87
September 25th, 2006, 11:54 PM
wait so its real?

Carol30
September 26th, 2006, 12:18 AM
cheater87..

No, not saying it's real. As a matter fact, in fairness to BC, only because I mentioned it, I went back to the two links to confirm it was NOT from their site. It is not, as I alluded to in my post.

I'm going to restore it and check to see if it matches the Microsoft URL Search hook. It's only my opinion, but I feel it is a f/p. I will not take action, until it is confirmed. Just how "I do things".

Carol

cheater87
September 26th, 2006, 12:19 AM
so should i leave it in quarintine?

Carol30
September 26th, 2006, 12:39 AM
cheater87..

I'm going by what Bubba and OldRebel have said. I trust their opinions. If after restoring it, you find the reg entry:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{CFBFAE00-17A6-11D0-99CB-00C04FD64497}\InProcServer32]

It would lead to it being a false positive. I did find the above, after restoration. That said, it's up to you. There's certainly no harm in waiting, if you're unsure.

Carol

Marianna
September 26th, 2006, 01:52 AM
I found the same entry after the latest ewido update. I just ran HJT and the entries mentioned at Bleepingcomputer:

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic66364.html

do NOT exist. My bet is, it is a False Positive.

karl.ewido
September 26th, 2006, 03:22 AM
Sorry for that. It will be fixed with the next update.

We're sorry for the inconvenience.

HelpFromFrance
September 26th, 2006, 04:53 AM
-{ Quote: "Sorry for that. It will be fixed with the next update.

We're sorry for the inconvenience." }-

Just ran ewido and had the same finding, then got the update and all is clear and OK now.

Thanks,
HelpFromFrance

cheater87
September 26th, 2006, 09:10 AM
i took it out of quarintine was that ok?

HelpFromFrance
September 26th, 2006, 09:33 AM
-{ Quote: "i took it out of quarintine was that ok?" }-

Cheater87,

If it is the same one that is mentioned above, yes, you are OK, it is a false positive. If you do the update and your count of signatures shows 441,674, then you run anohter scan it should not show up as Ewido corrected this in the last update.

Hope that this helps,
HelpFromFrance

Edit: -- Since I wrote this there has been another update and the siganture count is 441,735.

OldRebel
September 26th, 2006, 09:50 AM
I guess false positives are inevitable once in a while for all anti-malware programs. I submitted a support request by email last night and received the final reply that the error was fixed this morning when I first checked my email. Ewido support is wonderful in how fast they respond in these situations.
Thanks, team Ewido!:thumb:

Tommy
September 26th, 2006, 09:53 AM
Updatet ewido. Scanned the registry, no more f/p. Thanks.

Marianna
September 26th, 2006, 11:27 AM
Hi Karl,

thanks !

After updating ewido, everything is CLEAN again :D

Carol30
September 26th, 2006, 12:24 PM
All clear and another "Thank You"! A speedy response - as usual. :thumb::thumb:

cheater87
September 26th, 2006, 01:17 PM
mine says 441,735 i just updated it

JonPaulOnLine
September 26th, 2006, 05:12 PM
Thank you all
This is a great forum of interested parties

hangman
September 26th, 2006, 08:51 PM
Well just FYI, I scanned My comp and ewido also found this.
After I quarantined it I lost My search from address bar function (I have a reg hack to search with google from the address bar,I'm not sure if that had anything to do with the problem)
After removing this from quarantine all is well...
Did not try to reproduce the problem,I'll just leave well enough alone<g>

till later...
...hangman