ERROR: xml parser error

Discussion in 'ewido anti-spyware forum' started by isepiq, Sep 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. isepiq

isepiq Registered Member

I help disabled people with their comptures (free) around here as a hobby as I am a retired computer tech. I encourage all of them to buy ewido or get the free one & I put it on their comptures for them & set it up & show them how to use it.
    I have put Ewido 4.0 on over a dozen computers, some paid & some using the free version, & all of them work except 3. On these 3 computers when they try to do an auto or manual ONLINE update, they get this error message:

I managed to fix this on ONE computer by doing a repair install of Winows XP, but on these 3 that has not worked. Since I pretty much take care of all their computers, they all have the same security software etc. running on them.

I have googled this & have found a few others with this problem, but no answers.

Any ideas or help would be appreciated. Thank you.

IMHO
    isepiq:cool:

2. karl.ewido

karl.ewido former ewido team

Please check if firewall software, VPN or other network related software are installed on these other computers.

3. isepiq

isepiq Registered Member

Yes, I always have them put free or buy safety programs to keep their computer protected:
    Spybot Search & Destroy
    Sygate Firewall Pro OR Oupost Firewall
    McAfee Antivirus
    SpywareBlaster
    PestPatrol
    LavaSoft Adaware
    Norton AntiSpam

Again, on a dozen of these computers there is no problem with these programs installed, & one fixed with a repair install. Only 3 get the ERROR: xml parser error & nothing has fixed those 3 yet. Thank you.

IMHO

4. karl.ewido

If you use a firewall, please permit the traffic for the ewido file ewido.exe, so that this file has full access in both directions (incoming and outgoing) to the internet over port 80 and TCP.