PDA

View Full Version : Is this a Phishing scam


Albinoni
September 17th, 2006, 11:21 AM
My Dad got an email today re to update his Commonwealth Bank account and to click on a link in which would take him to the update page. Now the email is from C'Wealth Bank but I cant say whether its a phising scam or a genuine email. Plus do Commonwealth Bank send out emails on Sunday when their branches are closed on Sunday.


183282

bigc73542
September 17th, 2006, 11:31 AM
I doubt that the bank would send an email period. Most banks are aware of phishing scams and to prevent them they just don't contact their customers by email.

bigc

ronjor
September 17th, 2006, 11:34 AM
Looks like somebody is phishing. http://www.castlecops.com/a6647-Augusts_Top_30_Phish.html

RejZoR
September 17th, 2006, 11:52 AM
Just check the mail header. If still in doubt, contact their office and ask if they do contact users via e-mail. But i doubt it as it looks like scam. Especialy if whole text is just an image and niot real selectable text.
At least here in my country banks send such notices via standard mail and not through digital one. And they prefer doing business in person and not through net one or another way. May be not as high tech but certanly far more reliable and phising/scam free.

Bubba
September 17th, 2006, 11:54 AM
What they will also do is make it appear a link is going where it's intended but if one was to mouse over that commbank-netbank.com URL link they might see that it might actually be going somewhere else.

Tommy
September 17th, 2006, 11:56 AM
This is 100% Spam/Junk/Pishing. There are a lots of these 'Bank-Mails' out there in the moment, up to eBay.
For sure the link you can klick does not link to the main bank page. Do a mouse over and you will see.

Albinoni
September 17th, 2006, 12:00 PM
Now this is strange, why didnt Bitdefender Pro 9 detect it. I know that BD is meant to be one of the best scanners out there but the other thing is in BD I've disabled the Antispam function as I'm not quite sure if whether by doing this it has caused it to not pick it up.

Mongol
September 17th, 2006, 06:11 PM
Banks do not send emails like this out...period. Click on that update link and enter your personal info and someone has all the info they need to hack your bank account. Someone I know did this and a week later his balance was zero and he was a couple thousand in default. Just ask anyone at your bank and they will say steer away. Best thing you can do is find the banks online fraud email address and send it to them...cheers...:o :)

ccsito
September 17th, 2006, 08:22 PM
Even if the bank did send you the email, I would not respond to it. Most of the bank scams involve some kind of threatening message about being cancelled out of your account access if you don't respond. Scam artists are becoming more sophisticated when they try to lure you to their bogus site to get your account information. Some build a fake site that looks a lot like the regular site by pirating images from it. Bank of America instituted a site key to verify the site's authenticity when you type in the URL address. I look at any message from a bank like this - If I lost internet access completely (hard drive crash), then if any bank requires me to access my account solely through online means, I would immediately close the account and go elsewhere. I personally would not do business with banks that ONLY allow you do business online (a few of them do that). If you ever get any kind of suspicious email from a bank, it is always best to contact the bank directly to verify the message.

smith2006
September 17th, 2006, 08:50 PM
-{ Quote: "My Dad got an email today re to update his Commonwealth Bank account and to click on a link in which would take him to the update page. Now the email is from C'Wealth Bank but I cant say whether its a phising scam or a genuine email. Plus do Commonwealth Bank send out emails on Sunday when their branches are closed on Sunday.


183282" }-

To prevent others from falling victim to this scam, perhaps you would like to contact your bank on this?

-{ Quote: "The Commonwealth Bank does not send emails requesting you to confirm, update or disclose your confidential banking information. Should you receive an email you believe to be a hoax, please send a sample to the bank by emailing" }-

Here is the latest security alert from Commonwealth Bank of Australia dated 18th Sept 2006

http://www.commbank.com.au/NetBank/securityalerts.asp

Drew99GT
September 18th, 2006, 10:42 AM
-{ Quote: "Banks do not send emails like this out...period. Click on that update link and enter your personal info and someone has all the info they need to hack your bank account. Someone I know did this and a week later his balance was zero and he was a couple thousand in default. Just ask anyone at your bank and they will say steer away. Best thing you can do is find the banks online fraud email address and send it to them...cheers...:o :)" }-


Exactamundo. Credit Card companies/banks will not either, nor will paypal/ebay/amazon etc. NEVER EVER respond to ANY email asking you to click on a URL and enter your information.

Mongol
September 18th, 2006, 06:45 PM
-{ Quote: "Exactamundo. Credit Card companies/banks will not either, nor will paypal/ebay/amazon etc. NEVER EVER respond to ANY email asking you to click on a URL and enter your information." }-

Thanks, luckily my friend caught all the hackers withdrawals before they went through so they were able to reverse them. Think of all the 10's to 100's of thousands of computer newbies out there who don't know better and will just respond to these emails..YIKES!!..:blink: ::) :o :)

bs259
September 19th, 2006, 12:57 AM
My 1st comment is that I can't tell you wether or not this is a phishing scam, it does look like one though, but I can tell you that you people are all absolutely wrong in the fact that banks do not send emails to their customers, they absolutely do. For example my bank sends me emails at least once a month to let me know something about my account. That being said, it is better to be safe than sorry, I know that the emails are from the bank, but I still do not open them just in case, I just go directly to the banks web page, sign in and look at my messages there.

Mongol
September 19th, 2006, 12:27 PM
-{ Quote: "My 1st comment is that I can't tell you wether or not this is a phishing scam, it does look like one though, but I can tell you that you people are all absolutely wrong in the fact that banks do not send emails to their customers, they absolutely do. For example my bank sends me emails at least once a month to let me know something about my account. That being said, it is better to be safe than sorry, I know that the emails are from the bank, but I still do not open them just in case, I just go directly to the banks web page, sign in and look at my messages there." }-

The bank emailing you to give you information on your account is one thing but a random email with an update link prompting you to enter your log in information is something else. I would say it is a bit questionable and risky....:o 8)

bs259
September 19th, 2006, 01:32 PM
-{ Quote: "The bank emailing you to give you information on your account is one thing but a random email with an update link prompting you to enter your log in information is something else. I would say it is a bit questionable and risky....:o 8)" }-

If you read my statement that is what i said, i was stating to the people that said banks dont email their customers that, it simply isnt true. banks do email their customers, but be careful.

lodore
September 19th, 2006, 01:33 PM
yes they do send some email but as the website says they never send emails asking for account details and if you got an email like that report it.

Mongol
September 19th, 2006, 02:00 PM
-{ Quote: "If you read my statement that is what i said, i was stating to the people that said banks dont email their customers that, it simply isnt true. banks do email their customers, but be careful." }-

You are correctamundo. I reread your post and indeed it is in there. My foggy post midshift mind didn't decipher the data...cheers...:blink: :)