PDA

View Full Version : www.passthison.com


davewvu86
September 28th, 2003, 09:00 PM
So my brower got hijacked by passthison.com. I've never been to this site before. I'm assuming that this is probably from something I downloaded on Kazaa. This was pretty annoying. I finally fixed it...I think. Anyways, I'm very legitigious and am considering filing a small claims suit in a local court. As part of it, I have looked up all the corporate information for Passthison.com. Its registered to a company named Network Solutions Inc., according to www.whois.com. Here is the company's information according to lexis-nexis. I think I'm going to call tomorrow.
NETWORK SOLUTIONS INC
PO BOX 11
SPRINGDALE, AR 72765-0011 UNITED STATES
TEL: 479-750-3323
ABI-NO: 997209986

COUNTY: 05143 WASHINGTON

POPULATION: 25,000 - 49,999 BB

CARRIER-CODE: B001

PRI-SIC: 737904 COMPUTERS-NETWORKING

LOC-SALES: 1,000 - 499,999 AA

LOC-EMPLOYEES: 2

PAR-EMPLOYEES: UNKNOWN

BUSINESS-ORG: FIRM

EXECUTIVES: DEAN LOWMAN, OWNER

ADDRESS: 512 S PLEASANT ST
SPRINGDALE, AR 72764

AD-SIZE: REGULAR LISTING

CREDIT: UNKNOWN

LANGUAGE: ENGLISH

LOAD-DATE: June 23, 2003

davewvu86
September 28th, 2003, 09:23 PM
Ok, so I searched around further for passthison.com. I found a 2001 news article about it which says that the sites creator is Sanford Wallace. Humm..so which direction to go in now?

davewvu86
September 28th, 2003, 09:31 PM
so now, using whois.net I found a different registration for passthison.com
Registrant:
SmartBot.NET, Inc. - NO SPAM ALLOWED (PASSTHISON-DOM)
3 Cobblestone Court
Richboro, PA 18954
US

Domain Name: PASSTHISON.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Admin, Anti-Spam (SW10300) personal@SMARTBOTPRO.NET
SmartBot.Net, Inc. - ZERO TOLERANCE SPAM POLICY!
3 COBBLESTONE CT
RICHBORO, PA 18954-1374
US
215-953-7291 fax: 215-942-4338

Record expires on 23-Mar-2006.
Record created on 13-Sep-2002.
Database last updated on 28-Sep-2003 21:29:34 EDT.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS1.SMARTBOTPRO.NET 205.236.189.50
NS2.SMARTBOTPRO.NET 198.31.211.34

DolfTraanberg
September 28th, 2003, 10:25 PM
-{ Quote: " quoting: davewvu86 link=board=21;threadid=14347;start=0#msg90591 date=1064797223]
I'm very legitigious and am considering filing a small claims suit in a local court. " }-
hmmm, good idea, but what would be the charge ???
Dolf

Pieter_Arntz
September 29th, 2003, 02:47 AM
Hi davewvu86,

Read: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=13692;start=msg87178#msg87178

In the meantime this CLSID is being blocked by default in SpywareBlaster.

Regards,

Pieter

Rickster
October 1st, 2003, 05:23 AM
Not only what's the charge (or grounds), but whose responsible, Kazza too? Then you'd have to file in their jurisdiciton, which can get pricey, To top it all off, you have to "prove actual injury or economic loss" to recover a dime in a civil suit. Annoyance, frustration or inconvenience aren't enough. So don't waste your time and energy unless you can document economic loss (i.e., loss of income) because of it.

Good Luck, Rick