PDA

View Full Version : Is Cult 3d some spyware?


Gaz
September 7th, 2003, 02:52 PM
I went along to the Nokia website (eg: http://www.nokia.co.uk/nokia/0,,18979,00.html)

But as soon as I clicked onto phone demo site, it requested to install with Full Permissions.

I did not allow this install, but why does a 3D Player need them permissions.

Anyway, I think it looks a little dodgy, and the name CULT 3D is too.

www.cult3d.com is the website for them.

Does anyone think they are spyware, or is it a safe download?

Regards,
Gareth

Pieter_Arntz
September 7th, 2003, 03:19 PM
Hi Gaz,

As far as I know it is not spyware, but it will dump an ActiveX element in your Downloaded Program Files folder.
In a HijackThis log (http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/) it would show up looking something like this:
O16 - DPF: {31B7EB4E-8B4B-11D1-A789-00A0CC6651A8} (Cult3D ActiveX Player) - http://i.a.cnn.net/cnn/resources/cult3d/cult.cab

(The website could be different)

Regards,

Pieter

Gaz
September 8th, 2003, 02:12 AM
Ok thanks.