PDA

View Full Version : Virus from Wilders.org????


Daniel M
September 4th, 2003, 11:00 PM
Well, just registered today and posted a question about the auto update with selecting the "Notify of replies" option when writing the thread. I recieved the following emails from my ISP (ev1.net).

The virus software on ev1.net has reported that you were
sent a virus from webmaster@wilders.org, with the subject "Welcome to Wilders Security Forums".
The E-mail containing the virus has been removed to prevent further damage.

[Outlook 'CR' Vulnerability] was found in file: [No attachment]


and also

The virus software on ev1.net has reported that you were
sent a virus from webmaster@wilders.org, with the subject "Topic reply: Re:Auto Update Problem".
The E-mail containing the virus has been removed to prevent further damage.

[Outlook 'CR' Vulnerability] was found in file: [No attachment]


I am sure that the first is just what it says -an email welcome to the forums and the second email would be the auto notification about the thread I posted.

I am sure (I hope) that no viruses were sent in these emails but what would be in the email to make the AV scan that the ISP uses think that the emails contained viruses? I was unable to read the emails since my ISP deleted them. I would sure like to know so I could staighten the ISP out on this issue.

LowWaterMark
September 5th, 2003, 12:02 AM
Actually, that is a bogus virus warning. Take a look at this thread:

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=10642

Notice that it is "ev1.net" that has produced the bogus warning that is referenced in that thread, too.

Daniel M
September 5th, 2003, 12:27 AM
Thanks LowWaterMark for the reply.

I read the thread that you linked to about the ev1.net false positive. Is there any action that you know of that I can take up with ev1.net to rectify this situation?

Is ev1.net the only ISP that has had trouble with this issue?

Paul Wilders
September 5th, 2003, 04:39 AM
{QUOTE-> quoting: Daniel M link=board=11;threadid=13365;start=0#msg85375 date=1062736020]
I read the thread that you linked to about the ev1.net false positive. Is there any action that you know of that I can take up with ev1.net to rectify this situation? <-QUOTE}

All I can think of is asking them for a solid explanation.

{QUOTE-> Is ev1.net the only ISP that has had trouble with this issue?
<-QUOTE}

As far as we know of: yes.

regards.

paul