View Full Version : is "Spyware doctor" a Rogue/Suspect Anti-Spyware Products?
Astronomy
March 10th, 2006, 05:28 AM
Hey,everyone,I downloaded a anti-spyware product named "Spyware
doctor"today,then i started a full system scan,i'am sure my system is
clean, ten minutes later it finished it's scan. Right of the bat it showed 578
hits,578 hits was the final count.>:( later i use ad-aware to scan my system,
but only 23 infections was found,i am very scared!!>:( i found many of the
results are "bad sites" infections,and a backdoor named "Backdoor.GrayBird.K"
which hidden in
registry "HKLM\\SYSTEM\\CurrentControlSet\\Services\\XPROTECTED,
but it is a packer,not a backdoor.so i think Spyware doctor may be
prone to ridiculous false positives.
Perhaps someone could make a conclusion, I would appreciate it!
Chris12923
March 10th, 2006, 09:15 AM
Spyware Doctor is not rogue software. It has in my opinion no more false positives than any other software if not less. Here are also some links to read more about it.
http://www.adwarereport.com/mt/archives/000054.html
http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1895,1645388,00.asp
http://spyware-removal.thrcomputer.com/reviews/spywaredoctor-35-review.html
Even Spyware Warrior site includes Spyware Doctor as one of their 5 recommended programs http://spywarewarrior.com/asw-features.htm
Please feel free to ask other questions and I will try to answer.
I hope this helps.
Thanks,
Chris
EDIT: Heres one more from Spywareinfo.com http://www.spywareinfoforum.com/articles/spyware/spywaredoctor.php
TNT
March 10th, 2006, 09:19 AM
-{ Quote: "
hxxp://anti-spyware-review.toptenreviews.com/spyware-doctor-review.html" }- Can you please avoid reporting the above link as a "trustworthy" opinion source? It's not. http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=120105
Chris12923
March 10th, 2006, 10:12 AM
-{ Quote: "Can you please avoid reporting the above link as a "trustworthy" opinion source? It's not." }-
I will remove the link as I did not know that this site was contoversial. Thanks for pointing this out :)
EDIT: I just tried to remove the link but there is no edit button. Seems I can only edit my last post which is this one? If a mod can remove the link to the site in question I would appreciate it.
Thanks,
Chris
bigc73542
March 10th, 2006, 11:05 AM
-{ Quote: "I will remove the link as I did not know that this site was contoversial. Thanks for pointing this out :)
EDIT: I just tried to remove the link but there is no edit button. Seems I can only edit my last post which is this one? If a mod can remove the link to the site in question I would appreciate it.
Thanks,
Chris" }-
Removed the link for you.
bigc
Chris12923
March 10th, 2006, 11:06 AM
Thanks!
Thanks,
Chris
Mrkvonic
March 10th, 2006, 05:27 PM
Hello,
Two things for the poster:
You download something called Spyware Doctor. WHERE FROM? Spyware Doctor is not a rogue one, but it depends on the source.
Second, numbers mean nothing. Some apps detect items, others every individual entry. For instance, Ad-Aware might find a xxx item (only one), relating to the entire infection. Spyware Doctor could find 56 files and registry keys / values related to that one same infection.
False positives are possible - in my experience, I did have more FPs with Spyware Doctor than Ad-Aware, but 500 FPs is a bit too much.
Mrk
aigle
March 10th, 2006, 06:09 PM
i don,t know what is the reality but i feel it bad if some products rae counting the no of infection part by part just to make u feel taht the application is very good. I have old trial of SD and it always show a lot of things. I tried trilas of spysweeper and counterspy, that showed only some cookies( counter ans spysweeper) and only few registry enteries(spysweeper), norton and msas and adaware showed it clean, so i never removed anything.
Astronomy
March 10th, 2006, 09:48 PM
Thanks for the replies,I dowloaded this product form its offical
site:http://www.pctools.com,which version is 3.51,now I perform
a full system scan again,the results is 678 infections.hmmm,
many of the infections are "gif" or "jpg" file,this files are pictures in my
"Temporary Internet Files" Folder,I can not believe which are spyware,
I decide to choose ad-aware for my security setup.thanks
Chris12923
March 11th, 2006, 12:05 AM
Can you please send an email to Spyware Doctor support attaching a few of the .gif, .jpg files that are being shown as what you think is wrongly detected? If you do not hear back within 2 days can you please PM me and let me know.
EDIT: 2 business days
Thanks,
Chris
Astronomy
March 11th, 2006, 12:20 AM
Thanks for your help,I will send an email to Spyware Doctor support.
pctools
March 12th, 2006, 04:47 PM
Hello all,
This is PC Tools, maker of Spyware Doctor.
We do take false positives very seriously.
Astronomy, please submit your findings to the following website so that we can follow this case with you: http://www.pctools.com/contact/support/guide/spyware-doctor/
Thank you all for your assistance :)
Kind Regards,
PC Tools
hollywoodpc
March 12th, 2006, 06:09 PM
You could have those infections / cookies . I have found Spyware Doctor to be fine . As accurate as any as far as I can tell . And AdAware does not find things that SD searches for . SD finds many forms of malware . I would really be surprised if many of those are fp s . Could happen though . But , I have never run into a problem anywhere CLOSE to what is being reported here . SD is excellent for my needs
Smokey
March 12th, 2006, 06:50 PM
-{ Quote: "Spyware Doctor is not rogue software. It has in my opinion no more false positives than any other software if not less. Here are also some links to read more about it.
" }-
IMHO Spyware Doctor is top-notch piece of security software.
From my own humble experiences, i can recommend it;)
Astronomy
March 13th, 2006, 10:22 AM
Hello Pctools,Thanks for your assistance for my problem.
I think the situation is that spyware doctor have many "Bad Sites" signatures
in its database,and it will search the special string from the signature
database in the internet exploer's temp directory when i perform a quick
scan.i dig out all the infected files have the same string which is a bad site
link.I think this is the truth of ths Spyware doctor's FPS in my system.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2012, Wilders Security Forums