PDA

View Full Version : Fake Wilders.org


cnm
July 24th, 2003, 08:04 PM
Not too many details available I'm afraid. User was invited to download VCatch from what she thought was your site. >:(
http://www.spywareinfoforum.com/forums/index.php?act=ST&f=10&t=8369&s=#entry59292 and ff.
-{ Quote: "i wish i remebered the actual web address but i don't. I keep his site in my favorites so i can get to it.. but i recieved an email through yahoo from what i thought was him and it looked alot like his site.. and i mean ALOT, but now that i compare his REAL site to what i saw the other day i see the difference.. in the email it recommended this new virus tool and said it was free so i DLed it thinking it ws ok,, i have deleted all my mail =(

lesson learned .. from now on i only click on my own links,,, or atleast double check the web address and site " }-

FanJ
July 24th, 2003, 08:15 PM
Thanks CNM !!!

Paul is having a well deserved vacation at the moment, but I'm sure that he will appreciate your info.

I'll send an IM to him about this thread.

Thanks again CNM :)

Cheers, Jan.

Dan Perez
July 24th, 2003, 08:18 PM
Hi cnm,

Many thanks for the heads-up!

Regards,

Dan

cnm
July 24th, 2003, 08:24 PM
You're welcome. :)
Just sorry to have brought bad news..

FanJ
July 24th, 2003, 08:29 PM
-{ Quote: " quoting: cnm link=board=18;threadid=11693;start=0#msg75579 date=1059092686]
You're welcome. :)
Just sorry to have brought bad news..
" }-

Hey CNM,

No need to say sorry !!!
You did a very good job to notify us !!!

You already got a well deserved nice karma applaud from me :)

Thanks to YOU !!!

Cheers, Jan.

LowWaterMark
July 24th, 2003, 08:30 PM
Hmm, interesting. Well, since they are completely unsure about the link and email source, we'll just have to wait and see if this is actually anything of significance (wide spread and reoccurring) or not. Thanks cnm!